Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Waterford School

Private | PK-12 | 55 students

We are best known for Liberal Arts/College Prep.
 
 

 
 

Living in Sandy

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $261,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 13 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2009

We have had 3 children at the school since 2002 and couldn't be happier with all that Waterford has to offer. Not only is the academic curriculum strong, but the variety of liberal arts the school offers is as well. This balance is the key ingredient to my happy, well adjusted students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

I love, love, love this school. My children are in a safe, nurturing environment where they are taught to learn rather than taught to pass a test. Character development goes hand in hand with the academic development of the students. My children have been in the lower school for 5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

Waterford is an amazing school. We are impressed at the level of individualized attention our two children receive each and every day. The range of specialized programs including science, art, music and literature is unprecedented; the level of expertise and knowledge is comparable to the experience I had in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

Waterford is a fantastic school. I strongly recommend it for its character building environment. The lower school is just amazing. Our daughter loves it. We have really a lot of feedback and a fantastic two-way communication channel with the teachers. Bottomline, the school by far exceeds our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

Waterford is quite simply the best incredible. The faculty, facilities, extra-curricular activities, campus, and students are brilliant. Entering the school as a freshman, I was stunned by the inherently inclusive nature of my peers and faculty. The school is small, providing for an incredibly close nit environment that allows one to really feel at home. Waterford has given me opportunities to excel in Cross Country and Track, while also encouraging me to seek leadership opportunities. I write this as a Senior soon to be attending UPenn. I have been sincerely shaped by the amazing environment Waterford has to offer. It is truly worth every penny!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2006

I am currently a sophomore at Waterford and love it. This is my tenth year here, and I can't imagine going to any other school. I love learning, love all my classes and teachers, and feel like I am getting the best education possible in Utah, and maybe even in the U.S. I've known most of my classmates since I was young, and they're like brothers and sisters to me. Waterford is a challenging school, with hours of homework every night, big tests every few weeks and required class participation, but it's worth it. 99% of everyone who graduates goes onto college, and it's not uncommon for the majority of the class to attend Ivy League Colleges as freshmen. Waterford has an exceptional performing arts curriculum, and a gorgeous campus, with a magnificent view of the Wasatch Mountains as the backdrop.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2006

Waterford is a great school for our children. They are learning in a fun, engaging environment. They learn more than just facts, but also how to apply logic and creativity. How can you not love a school that held an 'invention convention' where 1st graders showed off an invention of their own! We're thrilled with the Music, Art, and Dance programs for all students. Science classes have really sparked interest for our children and they are excited about the summer science camps which focus on specific topics. Also, we are happy to see the responsiveness of the teachers. Anytime there is a social challenge, they are ready to engage the class in a constructive, proactive manner, helping the children to develop strong friendship and people skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

I would highly recommend Waterford to anyone! Entering as a Sophomore the Waterford Faculty and Students embraced me as one of their own. The small class sizes and attentive teachers quickly helped me feel like I was a part of the school and the school's purpose. Graduating three years later I saw that Waterford was essential in preparing me for the reading, writing, and interpersonal skills that would be required in the collegite setting. The campus is beautiful. The athletics are competitive (and because the school is small students of various athletic capabilities are able to participate) and the faculty is interested, engaged, and encouraging. I went on to graduate from Stanford and am sure of the fact, that as soon as I am able I will donate as much as I can to Waterford's further development.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2004

I sent my kids to this school and now my grandkids are there. Very dynamic cirriculum. Waterford has an amazing fine arts program that ranges from music to sculpture. The athletic programs are excellent. The atmosphere is positive and pristine. It is the best learning environment a caring parent could ever wish for. The teachers are amazing and care deeply about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My two children have been at Waterford since grade pre 4's (for 8 & 7 years). Lower school is 5 stars, great activities, facilities, teachers, etc. Middle school only gets 3 stars. At middle school the kids miss 15 days of school during the year for tests called 'finals' which are very innappropriate for those grade levels, they waste their day, and parents end up having to home school. Middle School kids should be in school all days and not have to follow the 'final' schedule which is appropriate for the upper school, in addition they have too much homework at times for that age group. Uppper School gets 5 stars from what I hear, class size is excellent, teachers are excellent, activities & facilities are excellent, level of learning excellent. Middle school just needs to be school, not home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I currently have four children attending. One of them, who is now in 6th grade, has attended there since pre-school. His reading, comprehension, critical thinking abilities and overall mathmatical skills are far above his peers attending public school. There isn't a real comparison to be made. Waterford instills capabilities which the public schools do not attempt until High School, if ever. My daughter in third grade prepared a research paper, with bibliography. Something which another son, who attended public schools, didn't attempt until 11th grade. The 6th grader at Waterford is already better educated than his older brothers who graduated from public High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Very challenging, no-nonsense school, with average class size about 20. Many high school classes have fewer than 10 students per class. Liberal arts program. Many AP classes offered in 11th & 12th grade. Beautiful facilities - physical plant is over 40 acres.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school truly is amazing! From the campus to the individual attention given to the students. The amount learned is above and beyond what is imagined!


Posted August 26, 2003

Excellent education in a character-building environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 2% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Dutch
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Siemens Award for Academic Placement (2009)
  • Cum Laude Society Nominating School (2013)
  • Morehead-Cain Nominating School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Nancy Heuston
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (801) 572-1787

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • private bus service
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Literary magazine
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • The Waterford School afirms that... 1. Your child will graduate with a love of learning 2. Your child will graduate prepared to excel in college and life, and to adapt to an ever changing world 3. Your child will graduate as a self-confident, independent and critical thinker who has explored herself/himself and the world around in atypical depth
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1480 East 9400 South
Sandy, UT 84093
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 572-1780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Edgemont School
Sandy, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT