Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lava Ridge Intermediate School

Public | 6-7

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2012

Worst administrative staff ever. They care nothing for the kids, only for the bottom line. Double that if your child has a health issue. Has accused my child of faking symptoms more than once. Teachers are OK, but there are several there who are just there for a paycheck. Unfortunately, I have another child who has to attend this nightmare of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I used to go to school at lava ridge. And i loved the teachers they were all very very nice to me and taught me some good life lessons. I came to that school troubled and if it wasn't for the teachers that showed they cared i might have ended up in jail. Thankyou very much for all the support you guys showed me when i was there. Sincerely William Hank Gunther


Posted August 4, 2009

I have had 3 of my 4 children attend this school and they all have been positively impacted by the Teacher/Staff commitment to the students and their education. They have all shown great improvement not only in their academic abilities but also their social skills. The staff is awesome, they are committed to the students and the learning experience. Teachers have stayed in constant contact not only through the school newsletter, but my phone and email. The office staff is wonderful and courteous. The counselors and guidance team to include the Principal and Vice-Principal work very hard to make the students feel not only welcome but wanted, safe, and part of 'the team'. My youngest is in her last year at Lava Ridge and we both are so excited to get the school year started and to start this years adventure. I highly recommend this school to any family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

awsome for a child its safe and there is protection
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2009

The staff of teachers are very good. The lunch program is not good at all. There are too many students in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Lava Ridge is a great school I had an awesome time there. I wish I could go there next year to. The teachers are great and friendly. Go Geckos!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

I am very impressed with the quality of education that my children have received while at this school. The atmosphere there is so positive, inviting, and warm. I love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

Wonderful school. Great Teachers. Very good programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 77%
Hispanic 15% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2425 Rachel Dr
Santa Clara, UT 84765
Phone: (435) 652-4742

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Out Of State School
St George, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT