Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saratoga Shores School

Public | K-6 | 1200 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2012

Excellent teachers, happy with the administration. Any problems or concerns that I've had with my children have been solved quickly and satisfactorily. I feel like my children are receiving an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

The education my children were receiving here was sub-par. My fourth grader had no spelling words, no vocabulary words, and no homework during his first six weeks at this school! When I questioned the teacher about this he told me he had not implemented any of that yet because his wife had just had a baby. I'm sorry, but my child's education is going to suffer because you have time management issues? Sixth grade wasn't much better. I have since transferred them both to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

My children have had very excellent teachers who are committed to their learning. The teachers have been great about emailing me and responding quickly. The principal is very involved and the children love him. The academic programs seem great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Principal is nice. The school is newer and the teachers are newer as well. Not a whole lot of experience but still friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

Ok school, my daughter went to 2nd grade there with Mr. Aders he is a great teacher.... Its a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

Our son has attended Saratoga Shores since its inception and has loved the school and teachers. The school is new and has had the latest state of the art features built into each classroom. We are thrilled with Mr. Martin, the current principle. We have had had all of our sons issues discussed with us and know exactly were he stands in comparison with his classmates. The few issues that we have had have been taken care of by his teacher...promptly and efficiently. We as parents feel that this school deserves a great rating. We realize how hard it is to find a good school with teachers who help the kids strive to do their best and most of all keep learning while continuing to have fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 78%
Hispanic 4% 15%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1415 South Parkside Dr
Saratoga Springs, UT 84045
Phone: (801) 766-8349

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lakeview Academy
Saratoga Springs, UT


Sage Hills Elementary School
Saratoga Springs, UT


Thunder Ridge Elementary
Saratoga Springs, UT


Pony Express School
Eagle Mountain, UT



Ranches Academy
Eagle Mountain, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT