Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Weber School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2013

South Weber Elementary is a great school! Great teachers, administration, and students. High academic scores. Lots of fun activities. Parent involvement is high. New K-2 building is great. My kids have gone here for 10 years and we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have attended this school, and now my children go. The school has come a long way, the parents help out a lot more its easy to become involved as a parent. and the staff are very friendly and some have been there for a long time. At first I did want to see my kids go to this school (I was picked on), but now that they are, I am glad. and not to mention teacher student ratio has come down since I went by 10 students, that is just 4 students different from a near by privet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Both of my children went to school here. This school was amazing! I have a gifted child and this school was very proactive in challenging him and keeping him occupied. The teachers really care and the parents are so involved. When we had to move, I was devistated. The so-called 'top rated' schools we moved to were not even close to this school. I would go back in a heartbeat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I am so pleased with our school. The parental involvement constantly amazes me. The teachers are amazing. I am so glad we moved here. I am glad my kids are able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

I have three children who attend this school, and we love it. One of my children has some special needs, and her teachers have gone out of their way to help and to keep me informed. The community is very involved in all of the school functions, the academic level is high, and the staff is very helpful. My children attended a different school before we came here, and we have found this school to be far superior. We Love It!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 18, 2006

This school is the best school I have ever been involved with. My little sister attends and is taken care of 100% of the time. The children are wonderful, the techers are caring and the rest of the staff gives their all and reches out to make sure she is comfortable. Thank you. We love and appreciate everything you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

I was very disappointed in how unorganized the whole school is. One secretary working in the office certainly is not enough. I joined the PTA and paid my membership dues and I can only tell you that I would find out about meetings after the fact. I offered to volunteer my time. To get any results you have to go over everyones head directly to the principal to have anything done. As far as an assistant principal being there, couldn't we have more office help? The acedemics were very weak, no communication what so ever. We chose to take our children elsewhere and are very happy we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Although I would like to see more opportunities for gifted students, So. Weber Elementary does a great job of educating it's students. The staff is excellent, and really cares about the students. Parent involvement is fantastic, and there are many opportunities to volunteer with the PTA, and in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Hispanic 2% 15%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1285 East Lester
South Weber, UT 84405
Phone: (801) 402-3750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Uintah School
Ogden, UT






Adams School
Layton, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT