Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public charter
St George, UT
Students enrolled: 920

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

George Washington Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have two children that attend. Best teaching staff and admin! The children learn so much and retain it. This school is building the leaders of tomorrow.

George Washington Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
George Washington Academy has just received the Utah Charter School of the Year Award 2013!!!

George Washington Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
My kids have gone to GWA since Kindergarten and it has prepared them for a solid academic life. We don't mind homework - that's why we chose GWA, so they could be challenged. The character education program is great too. School gives a well-rounded education. We love it!

George Washington Academy 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
I can't imagine the experience of the negative post from 6/23. It seems they were at a different school. My child just completed her 5th year at GWA and I can't say enough good about it. Her academic level is far above her public school friends - in EVERY subject. And the positive self-esteem and character building focus is amazing. As for bullying...again, I know for a fact that they have and enforce a zero tolerance policy regarding bullying. We wouldn't have our children anywhere else.

George Washington Academy 1

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
So dissapointing!!! I thought it would be better than public school. But, 25 to a class, no professional aide. They are just like public school. Bullies, etc. Just because the math curriculum is a year advanced doesn't mean they teach it well. HOMEWORK, HOMEWORK hours every night. No foreign language. After this experience I put my children into a local private school with16 students to a class with a professional aide, foreign language, afterschool clubs, no bullies. Well worth the money with test scores to prove it.

George Washington Academy 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
This school is far better than the school I have waisted $30,000 in private school tuition. This school is so much better. It has all the attention of a private school, parent involvement, and values. The academics and character building is superior. I absolutely love this school.

George Washington Academy 5

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
My child was getting C's, and D's in the public school system. Now my child is getting A's and B's and tells me how much they like their new school. What a boost in my childs confidence. Thanks GWA.

George Washington Academy 5

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
We have been with this school since it opened and we absolutely love it.

George Washington Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
Great for students who are academically advanced and need the challenge. They learn so much in the way of math , science, and socail studies. It is a Core Knowledge School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington Academy
2277 South 3000 East, St George, UT  84790
(435) 673-2232
Last modified George Washington Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Washington Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top