Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,023 students|Davis District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Buffalo Point School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
My student has been in the SPED room for part of the year and had great teachers there. His classroom teacher is another story.

Buffalo Point School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
My sons teacher has broken him. He has given up trying because he has had no successes.


Buffalo Point School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
In order to develop respect, the school staff must display respect, my son has been told "I don't want to hear what you have to say." " You and I are going have problems this year. " and he gets bellowed at by cafeteria staff while he's trying to eat his lunch.

Buffalo Point School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
My son was bullied by another kid at his table in class and his teacher said they would "work it out" on their own. The bully got suspended for strangling another student and my son was finally free of the kid.

Buffalo Point School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
My students last school had character development programs. I've seen nothing similar here such as the RISE acronym, STAR expectations, etc....


Buffalo Point School 2

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Not sure the schools other commenters are comparing BPE to, but is is not a good school. There are so many students (over 1000) that your child is lost in the shuffle, especially if you have a special needs child. The district won't bus students who live less than 1.5 miles from the school as the crow flies. My child doesn't fly, so he is expected to walk a 5 K per day in inversion air to school. The lack of mass transportation creates a huge traffic jam every school day two times a day. The traffic causes accidents and the students aren't safe. The teachers and staff are completely swamped, they have no patience or understanding for their students or their students needs. The academics are poor, my child is studying a full semester behind what he was when he left his last school.. Not happy, regret moving to Syracuse for the schools. Maybe private school is the way to go..

Buffalo Point School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
We love the Spanish Immersion program at Buffalo Point. It has helped my daughter have a culturally enriched learning environment and also challenged her academically. The principal is wonderful and easy to talk to. The teachers have been great so far. There are lots of opportunities for parents to be involved!

Buffalo Point School 5

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
Great School! Principal, staff and teachers are awesome and go above and beyond for the students!


Buffalo Point School 5

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
Love this school! We recently moved out of the school boundaries and greatly miss this school! We hope to move back by the beginning of next school year. The office staff and principal are great! Teachers are awesome and really care about the students. Parental involvement is welcomed and awesome. I may be bias but I sure think this is the best elementary in Davis County school district!

Buffalo Point School 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Just recently moved here and the principal was fantastic and understanding enough to grant my daughter a boundary waiver due to her anxiety over the track schools. Very nice and personable staff and looking forward to being an active parent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Buffalo Point School
1924 South Doral Dr, Syracuse, UT  84075
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (801) 402-8400
Last modified Buffalo Point School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top