Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Excelsior Academy

Charter | K-8 | 654 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tooele

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $160,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

My son has been at Excelsior Academy for 2 years now, and my daughter will join him there next year. I love the more reasonable class sizes (compared to some local schools), having a teacher's aide at all times, and the leveled learning. I feel this is helping my son to be exactly where he needs to be with his learning. They adjust his group based on his ability levels so he's never bored or struggling. His teacher has also gone above and beyond in helping him to fit in and succeed in school. I love being included in my son's education. The learning plan he comes home with every night keeps me informed with what he's learning. I also receive emails from his teacher with updates on his grades and goings on in the classroom. The only things that I can think of that are "cons" would be the drive time (no buses), and they're a little heavy on homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

We LOVE Excelsior.We have been there for four years. We chose it over our local elementary school based on the leveled learning they offer in reading, spelling and math. They use the Core Knowledge Sequence for history, literature and science. The kids are exposed to a wide variety of subjects even in Kindergarten. They stress patriotism by reciting the Pledge and singing the National Anthem. I love the uniform policy. I like the school wide behavior system, it is consistent no matter where the student is in the school. There were many administrative changes in the first few years. It seems they have found a great core of administrators who are dedicated to the school and community. Drawbacks: drive time (no bus system), a little heavy on homework, longer school day 8:15-3:30 (other public schools 9-3:30).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

We have children in both elementary and junior high grades. This is our third year at Excelsior and all our interactions have been very positive. We can see a dramatic difference between the level of education my children were getting at Settlement Canyon Elementary; our children are being better prepared for higher education and excellence in their future endeavors. We love the variety of subjects they are taught and the way the curriculum broadens their perspective on those subjects. We are very pleased with the importance the school places upon teaching children about patriotism and civic duty. All our children are experiencing things in the classroom that inspire and excite them. Programs, such as art, music, and physical education are never taken from them. We are in favor of the classroom disciplinary system-some may call it "strict," but it's no different than the card system in other schools. It is enforced and children are expected to behave so that all scholars may learn. Scholars who master a subject are presented with advanced material that challenges them. Two teachers in every classroom is a wonderful advantage that greatly benefits teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

My children have been in this school for 3 years. It has been wonderful. The teachers and staff have been responsive and willing to communicate with me. My children have excelled here. I love the leveled learning and the care that the directors and staff have for the scholars. I am impressed with the strict behavior guidelines and appreciate the order that the school has. The curriculum is challenging and encourages the kids to do their best. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

This is my childrens third year attending and we have decided it is best for them to go back to public school. There have been 3 principals in the last 3 years and it is extremely strict. I think the structure is great in tjeory but is executed so rigidly children are treated like soldiers. This is great for children that need structure to be successful but not for children that wish to be able to express themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I like the school, the leveled learning progams, and the teachers, My kids like going to school and can learn at their own pace. The dress code is great. The management, however, needs to stop changing things (curriculum, library time, computer, time) in the middle of the school year. And who ever heard of a school without a school library? Also, I think the teachers are expected to cram so much information into kids each day they kind of cut back on quality. All and all I think it is an above average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

My three children are in there second year of attending the school. I have to say it has been great. All three of my children have excelled quickly and have learned above and beyond what they thought they could. The thing we love best is that the children can learn at there own pace , they are not held back with the class because of one or two children and if they need the individuale attention they recieve it. The teachers are great and the administration in the Middle school is wonderful he loves his job and the kids and it shows. There is no drama amongst the students and it makes for a better learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

This school's administrative board decisions and continual changes in vision and staff has lead to not knowing what you are going to get out of this charter school. Too many parents and teachers are leaving and heading back to the traditional public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

We love this school! The teachers are great, the principal is very easy to comunicate with, and they offer so many different 'clubs'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
51%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 78%
Hispanic 5% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

124 East Erda Way
Tooele, UT 84074
Phone: (435) 882-3062

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rose Springs School
Stansbury Park, UT


Stansbury Home Study School
Stansbury Park, UT


Overlake School
Tooele, UT


Stansbury School
Stansbury Park, UT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT