Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tooele High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

Tooele High School is an amazing school. The teachers are really friendly and they help you anyway they can. The lunches are good and it is really easy to make friends there and everyone is super nice. Well some of them haha. Overall I really like Tooele. They are really good with special needs kids and everyone is really nice to them. Tooele also has a lot of extracurricular activities and clubs. A lot of things to keep you involved. I would recommend going here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2012

Some of the teachers arnt all that great, but some of them are absolutely amazing, such as the Physics teacher. The luches are good, the counclers are ok, the staff is very freindly, and most of the students love the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2011

Close to home and no problems with the school overall except their inability to assist with over qualified children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

I have two student at Tooele High, one with problems and one with out. The administration and teachers have been great working with both my children. The counselors are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Tooele High is an amazing school where you find friends that you will have for a lifetime. True, some of the teachers are hard to get along with, but most generally want to help. Tooele has many extra-curricular activities for anyone that wants to join. there are clubs and sports, tutoring and anything you could think of. I have found Tooele High to be a school where students truly gain their individuality and grow not only academically but also socially and mentally. It has a few notches in it, but students' opinions matter, and we are all learning. that is what really matters
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2007

There is no help, no communication, nothing to help a challenged student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

As a student at Tooele High, I've found no help when I needed it. I've gone to teachers looking for help because I didn't understand what I was being taught, and have been told 'your not trying hard enough' or 'This isn't hard, you don't need my help' and even 'it's not my job to help you understand'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2004

The teachers at Tooele High School are very unresponsible and rude. My daughter had a English class where half off her work was lost and she felt as if she were being graded on how nice she was to the teahcer instead of her academics. The Good ole Boy system is more important that any students testimony and that of his/her peers. My student has been going there for 2 years and I have found most things to be unsatisfactory, especially the standards that I have viewed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

If the attendance policy is so important, why are 'student aides' taking 'excused' calls when a parent calls in to excuse their student. We phoned in and excused our student and this information was not recorded, forgotten, lost, misplaced, etc., and my student was not excused. When I call in now, I ask for the name of the student taking the information to avoid future problems and assure accountability. Yes, as parents we are accountable for our student's absences and excusing these absences; however, the school should also be accountable for excusing the student when the parent, in good faith, phones in. The same importance and accountability should be exercised by the school to the excused absence as it is to the initial student absence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This school is one of the worst when it comes to notifying parents about important issues. They also charge money for every elective your child takes. They charge for handbooks, text books and just about everything else. Bad attendance policy!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
31%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
22%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
50%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
47%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 77%
Hispanic 13% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 West Vine
Tooele, UT 84074
Phone: (435) 833-1978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Stansbury High School
Stansbury Park, UT


Stansbury Home Study School
Stansbury Park, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT