Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wellsville School

Public | K-5 | 395 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2012

I love Wellsville Elementary. The principle is exceptional. The classes are mid to upper twenties, but with all of the aides and student teachers, and reading teachers, my kids personal educational needs are constantly met. They are able to push them based on their own level of need. I am so impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I absolutely love this elementary school. The principal is wonderful. The teachers for my children are amazing and work very hard. They communciate well with me and I always know what's going on. I could not be more pleased. My 6 and 7 year old wake up everyday excited to go to school. I don't know if you can say more than that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I am surprised this school recieved such a high score. Although the testing obviously shows a high score, I think it is just luck. My daughter was just not being challenged and was given coloring pages every day after she finished her huge pile of worksheets while she waited for the rest of the class. One can only color so much until school is no longer fun. We switched to Thomas Edison South Public Charter School where they have the amazing ability to teach to the top and those who are struggling with equal balance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

I currently have 3 children in Wellsville Elementary and have over all been quite pleased. They adopted an excellent reading program a few years ago that has launched what is expected from the teachers and students also and brought their scores up high! Parent involvement is very high in lower grades. Community involvement is good also. Their new music teacher is excellent. Previous to that I thought their music program was lacking. The county offers after school orchestra experience for 4th & 5th grade. I value a well-rounded education and feel that Wellsville offers just that. The principal is very involved with the students, they love him. The teachers are all involved with parents (especially after parents request). I have rarely had my chid not want to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

While yes their school is old, it is a great place for kids. I moved my family here for just that reason. There are two after school programs for children to go to and the price is very small. If you can't afford it they will give you a scholarship. My daughter is in 4th grade but reads at a 2nd grade level. This is not due to the school, it's my childs ability. They have given her 3 special classes each day to help her overcome this. I couldn't be more pleased with how they have helped her. They even started a new reading program called corrective reading to catch bad habits kids have learned while reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

I have three children attending wellsville elementary. I am very dissatisfied with this school. They are the oldest school in the county and need many repairs and upgrades yet the county keeps putting the money into building new schools and upgrading schools that are new than Wellsville. The school doesn't even have a generator, if the power goes out the parents are called to come and get the kids. Both of my sons have difficulties in reading and writing, my youngest was suppose to be held back, but just as school ends the send me a letter saying he gets to move on. He isn't ready. The teachers aren't there for the kids and it shows. The quality of the academic program would be good if the teachers taught right and listened to the parents. The availability of extracurricular activities is extremely limited and parent involvement is decent. Rating Poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 78%
Hispanic 2% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

90 East 100 South
Wellsville, UT 84339
Phone: (435) 245-3764

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lincoln School
Hyrum, UT




Nibley School
Nibley, UT



Canyon School
Hyrum, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT