Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westvale School

Public | K-6 | 679 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

We just moved to utah this past year and we are zoned for Westvale. I wasn't sure what to expect of the schools out here. My 5th grader and I both love this school and his teacher. Rebecca Rendell is an amazing teacher and my son has learned so much from her. Overall this is a wonderful school and I am very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

Funny how the latest reviews blames the minorities and the poor kids for the failures of this school. The last principal was the wife of a bishop of a nearby ward. I bet the last review was written by one of her fellow ward members. Westvale is worst than schools in Glendale that have refuge children who speak a multitude of languages. shame on this women for blaming children just because they are darker than her and not as affluent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

When it came time to send my oldest to school, I put a lot of thought into whether to send her to Westvale, our neighborhood school, or to take her to a school that looked better "on paper" (test scores, etc.). I found out that Westvale has many students whose first language is something other than English, and also there are enough students from low income families that the school recently qualified for extra Title One funding. I decided that the test scores probably reflect those two factors more than reflecting badly on the teaching. I also felt a desire to contribute to the school as an involved parent, rather than seeking "greener pastures". Involved parents do make a difference! In our family's combined 6+ years at Westvale, we've been happy with the level of attention and learning our kids are receiving. This school has some excellent teachers, a good amount of involved parents, and helpful staff that listens to parents. I have had a few occasions when I've brought concerns or sought clarification for things my kids talked about, and I've always had prompt and helpful responses from staff. I also think the PTA at this school has done a good job, from what I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

this school is just horrible never let your kid go here the teachers are mean


Posted December 10, 2010

I was not impressed with this school at all. 1-In 6th grade my daughter had a teacher who spent most of his day asleep instead of teaching the kids. I emailed EVERYONE I could. Called the principal monthly and nothing was done about it until I called Get Gephardt. The teacher is actually not teaching there anymore. 2-The school psychologist and the teacher spent over and hour encouraging me to put my ADHD son on medication. It seems medicated kids are easier to handle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

My special needs son went to Westvale, and he was bullied horribly. His IEP was not followed, and the principal was not willing to work with us. When we discussed the bullying with the teachers, we were told that he was simply in a class of tough kids, and there was nothing they could do about it. My son's class had very low parent involvement. Most of the parents in the neighborhood who are involved with their kids education have pulled their kids from the school in favor of the charter schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

Teachers and staff are caring. They put their best efforts towards making sure children have the best opportunity to get an outstanding education. The students show respect to one another and their teachers. Westvale is a good place to raise kids to be responsible citizens and successful adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 78%
Hispanic 16% 15%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 West 8660 South
West Jordan, UT 84088
Phone: (801) 565-7510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hawthorn Academy
West Jordan, UT



Riverside School
West Jordan, UT


Terra Linda School
West Jordan, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT