Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-9
Public
West Jordan, UT
Students enrolled: 1,266

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Hills Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
As a parent I have been heavily involved in making school policy. Our community council approved the coat/backpack rule for safety/security issues. Weapons are smuggled into school classrooms, school property in smuggled out concealed inside coats & packs. Coats & packs sit on the floor obstructing aisles. Kids have tripped over them & been injured. West Hills is a middle school. That means that the school's mission is to prepare students for academic success, not athletic. When budgets are constantly being cut. Sports will not be a priority. Intermurals are available. Student Led Conferences ( we don't do Parent-Teacher conf) put the responsibility for learning squarely on the shoulders of the student. They collect work samples from each class & an evaluation from each teacher. Students reflect on and address their own specific goals, strengths & weaknesses. I have seen MAJOR improvement in my children's work and attitude when they have no one to blame but themselves. West Hills is an amazing school with dedicated teachers, great students & family support & the best administration ever. You would be lucky to have your children attend this school (in spite of budget cuts!)

West Hills Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, supportive administration, happy students!


West Hills Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I think the teacher's need to spend more time teaching and not sending the homework home for the parent. I feel like to much of the work is being sent home. Also, the teacher during study time needs to be spending less time at their desk and more time walking around seeing if students need help and understand the assignment.

West Hills Middle School 2

Posted October 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Hills Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
West Hills principal, Mrs. Baker, is an outstanding administrator with the students' best interests in mind. There is not a school without it's fair amount of problems, however, there are many schools that do not have the administration to back-up the students and their needs as does West Hills. I amI am happy with the amount of effort she puts into untiing not only the student


West Hills Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
Teachers need to be able to handle the student's behavior much better , while still having tact , integrity, and professioanlism. If they can not , then they are in the wrong profession and need to move over . Children need not only education , but an environment where they can learn .

West Hills Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 07, 2008
- a parent
The school needs better teaches and the rules need to be looked in to. They can't even take backpacks or coats to class. Also the parent teacher confrences is a joke.

West Hills Middle School 2

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
need more sports, better teachers!!!


West Hills Middle School 2

Posted June 27, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Hills Middle School 2

Posted August 18, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Hills Middle School
8270 So Grizzly Rd, West Jordan, UT  84081
(801) 412-2300
Last modified West Hills Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Hills Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top