Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joel P Jensen Middle School

Public | 7-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

This is a terrible school. My daughter was an A student and always smiling. Then she went here. Now I barely recognize her. She says everyone does drugs and there is peer pressure everywhere. She tries so hard to get good grades but most of the teachers are always in a bad mood so she doesn't feel comfortable approaching them. If you are moving to this area, I strongly recommend you keep on looking for a better area...if you care at all about your kids and their education!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

principals wen oulled into office to discuss possible thing u can get arrested for dont disscus their rights and say something happend wen it never did


Posted June 4, 2012

the staff, mostly the principal has been great to work with, we have had some family issues and she has been more than helpful and understanding along with attendance office staff. Not super impressed with some teachers or their counselor
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Joel P. Jensen is not too bad of a school. Some teachers are more willing to work with you than others. Like all schools it has some teachers that are better than others; it all depends on what teachers you get the kind of experience you have. They have honors classes available, student leadership, and frequent opportunities to make up work. However, they are a little low on after school activities and the administration could be a little better. I currently attend Joel P. and I don't think it's as bad as everyone brings it up to be. The school building itself is set up a little funny and they don't have air conditioning so it gets hot in the summer but the majority of the teachers have fans to cool it off though. Some students behave better than others but it's like that at every school and there's nothing anyone can really do about that. Over-all, its an okay school; I've seen better and I've seen a lot worse.


Posted January 23, 2012

The school principal of the year 2011/2012 is rude and mistreated me. I have MS and I needed assistance checking my student out of school, she has the rudest attitude towards me. She said "You need to go to the attendance office." I replied "Can you tell me which room it is in?" She rudely replied "Can't you see the sign down the hall? Well the sign is big enough you should be able to see it." I proceeded to tell her my eyesight was bad and i guess i will just go ask someone else further down the hall."I thought that conversation was polite on my end and very harshly and inconsiderate on her end. It's not like you couldn't see that I had MS or some type of disability, I was extremely unstable and I was walking with my cane. If she acts that way to a parent i can not imagine how she treats the students. I strongly suggest that you take your student to a different middle school until that principal is removed. Joel P. Jensen is a very old school and the principal is extremely rude and inconsiderate to people's disabilitys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

The Principal of Joel P. is unapproachable to both students and parents. Concerns of bullying went unheaded and when I asked to be allowed access to photograph my child's locker, I was denied permission. The building is old and is in poor condition. The atmosphere is hostile and supressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I recently attended Joel.P.Jensen and i do not recomend this school if your student is already strugging in school.The crime rate (not the crimes that have been recorded) is ridiculous. I was not the best student but I think that this school needs to try harder for their students. It seems as if some of the teachers and staff hate there jobs wich makes a negitive learning atmosphere. I had all failing grades from seventh grade to the time I left Joel.P.Jensen. And I am in no way blaming the teachers for me not following directions. This school needs to be looked at by the district. It got to the point that my teachers didnt even bother to give me assinments. I love Joel PJensen. I hope that they can manage to bring there scores up. My last report card from my new school came in the mail the other day and my worst grade was a A- haveing said.You can see that im am able to get god grades with the right motiveation thank you for your time and again i am mostly responsible for my poor grades but I hope someone will look at this and help me and all the other students that have fallen through the cracks. I hope that you can ignore the fact im just a student.


Posted December 9, 2010

i am not impressed with this school, the administration, or the faculty. My daughter went to Joel P and luckily she is the type of student that puts her head down and just gets things done. My son, on the other hand, is a little more of a challenge and I have to keep in contact with the school constantly. I email the principal and NEVER get a response. I email the teachers and rarely get a response. I call the teachers and once I got a response. I'm constantly trying to get them to care about my student and his success and I've found two that truly do and I can tell. The principal is a dictator and won't listen or even respond to the parents concerns. She has her assistant principal handle everything and he doesn't have a backbone. I cannot wait until my child is out of this school. It has been a constant fight trying to get them to do what is right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I have not been imressed with the school admin. Recently my child received an award. They called to tell us about it only a few days before the event. We were there even with short notice, unfortunatly they told us the wrong time, missed the whole thing. This seems typical from what I have seen as a parent.. Joel P Jensen CAN do better, shame. I am thinking of enrolling my kids in a Charter School where they will be challenged, not lost in the shuffle and bullied by mean kids and respected by the admin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

As a seventh grader at this school it is ok the teachers don't really care about you and they are no able for after school help. Some of the teachers don't get up from out of their desks and just tell us what to do or how many movie notes their are to take. And the lunch lines are so crowed. I kinda feel that the teachers don't care about us at all I have had a 4.0 all year long and I don't feel like the school cares. And their is so much extra credit available that you can not do any work and pass the class. There is sbo's ( student body officiers) at the school. But I don't feel there is enough after school clubs to be in. But don't kid me wrong there is plenty of things that are good like the lunch that is really good!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

As a former student I can tell parents flat out what the school is like. The school had a few pros but many cons. A lot of the teachers were fabulous, and they tried their best. Some of them even changed my life, but it seemed that for the most part the teachers were just there doing time. The building is dark, old, run down, and highly overcrwoded. Very little space in the hallways. The school has a very bad reputation. The kids at that school are really mean and wild beyond what is normal because the faculty and staff has no control over it's students. Sometimes the faculty consists of disgruntled teachers taking it out on the kids (no joke). At the same time they were very poor in disciplining their students. My mother and I were not satisfied with my experience.


Posted February 11, 2008

Excellent Staff and curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

Joel P. Jensen has an awesome faculty. Unfortunately the district power school program that is used to communicate with parents and to track grades has changed ownership. The new software they are using has made powerschool unreliable. So if you are a parent that only communicates by E-Mail and your not hearing anything back from teachers, theres a good possibility that they aren't getting your E-Mails. Please call the school and leave a message for your child's teacher. They will return your call at the earliest possible time. I have been associated with this school for ten years and can guarantee that it has a faculty that cares about students and their success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2007

I've had a very hard time communicating with teachers and administration! On numerous occasions, I've needed to consult with teachers/administration. I prefer to email so everything is in writing; However, my letters are usually ignored. One teacher became livid when I took this fact to her superior. There has to be a better way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

This school has been an extremely bad experience for me. The teachers have no control over their classes and only a few teach and treat the kids the way they should be treated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2005

The academic programs at JPJ are top notch. All of the teachers at this school are awesome! Almost every parent of these students are members of the ptsa, they are very involved. There are 2 art classes with amazing teachers, and the choir teacher is experienced and has great control over his class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2004

Enviroment: This is an overcrowded school. Students are literally crammed into classrooms and in the summer it gets very hot. Some teachers can be overly harsh in criticizing ther students. One teacher I had read scores out loud mercilessly to the class. That doesn't make for a confidence booster.Teasing is high. Teachers: Very willing to work problems out w/ students, but harsh at times and slightly lenient when it comes to noisy students. Some of them don't stay after class when they promise to. Classes: Good quality, has honor programs. Discipline: Average, nothing special that adds or detracts to the quality of the school. Has moderate drug raids. One thing I have to say, the administration needs to control the lunch lines. People keep on cutting in line. Involvement and activities: High quality and helpful to some. Should you send your student to this school? If they can handle the stress, go ahead. Use caution.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2004

i think this school was a bad environment for me to be learning in. i had some bad experiences with the administration and they were not fair AT ALL in the situations. the students that i came in contact with were not such a great example either. the environment is dark and very upsetting!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2004

this school is not such a great school. the teachers are not very helpful, and they have way to many children enrolled in the school. the building is also very old and in need of repairs. they also do not have a very good diciplining system.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
35%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 77%
Hispanic 27% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8105 South 3200 West
West Jordan, UT 84088
Phone: (801) 412-2850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hawthorn Academy
West Jordan, UT




Elk Ridge Middle School
South Jordan, UT


Navigator Pointe Academy
West Jordan, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT