Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heartland School

Public | K-6 | 728 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

Horrible school. The principal NEVER returns my calls. The teachers would rather suspend a student instead of work with them over even minor problems. Ive had nothing but problems with the staff there and feel like my child has been singled out and not even given a chance. Im just very disappointed that the school system is as it is there. Its been a horrible experience for our family and nothing like how we believe a school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

AWFUL. We had to move our son after 3 years at this school due to teachers who could even have an educated conversation with us as parents. The dual immersion program is a joke. The teachers (besides one) are so difficult and nearly impossible to communicate with. One year our child had three different teachers!! Please if anything, so not put your child in this program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

I'm very disappointed in the school's new principal and some of the teachers. They don't want to address bullying issues and students are treated unfairly. Teachers are very defensive. It was a great school when Mr. Ichimura was there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

I have 4 children that currently attend Heartland Elementary and they love it. We have had no problems with other parents, kids, teachers, principals, etc. We feel that are kids are being taught the state cirriculum and are actually excelling academically above their peers at other schools (who have transferred to other schools). We have no complaints. The current principal is fantastic with the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

My son attended kindergarten at Heartland last year, midway through the year I had to pull him out of the class he was in, it was a new teacher and she did not know how to do constructive teaching, after I moved my son to the new teacher he did great and loved school again now this year I am finding the same problem, they bring on a new teacher and she comes off very arrogate when I try to talk with her. I am currently looking for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

My husband, and family have grown up here in West Jordan all of their lives,and have attended Heartland. Sad to say, it is not the school it use to be. The teachers are some what hard to deal with. It has gone way down hill. There is a lot of bulling, and is not a environment I want my 3 kids around. I willl not be sending my kids there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I have had my kids in this school for 3 years now and have come to the conclusion that my kids deserve MORE than what they are getting at this school. I am moving them to a new school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Heartland is a Great school. We have a very active PTA program as well as a School Community Council. My kids are excelling very well. We love the teachers that they have had! I highly recommend this school to everyone in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 77%
Hispanic 24% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1451 West 7000 South
West Jordan, UT 84084
Phone: (801) 565-7533

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Majestic School
West Jordan, UT


West Jordan School
West Jordan, UT


Calvin S. Smith School
Taylorsville, UT


Westland School
West Jordan, UT



Midvale School
Midvale, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT