Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

West Ridge Academy

Private | 6-12 | 80 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Jordan

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

My son was 13 when we finally found the right help. We had tried working with the school. They were cooperative but didn't really help. They thanked us when we put him on meds because it helped him behave somewhat better for awhile. We tried counseling and doctors. But things we just not getting better over the long run. A dear friend and neighbor told me about West Ridge and it felt right from the first. It was a week before he turned 13 and hard to place him right before his birthday. It was very hard for me as his mom to admit that I couldn't help him. But I couldn't. I had tried everything I could think of to help. Now WRA was the help that my family needed. His teachers had always said that he wouldn't graduate from High School. But with WRA's help HE DID. He gained through the loving therapist the skills to cope with his life and so did we. I believe they really cared and that with love he was able to open up and let go of some of his hurdles. He filled his emotional toolbox so to speak. He is now an adult on his own and we have a good relationship. He not only learned a lot but so did his dad and I. They helped us our family get thru a lot. Thank you WRA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My daughter was 17 yrs old at the time we placed her at West Ridge Academy. We had tried counseling for years, and even moved hoping that she would have a new start at a new school. She was out of control, lieing, substance abuse, and no integrity. At West Ridge the structure, the counseling and most of all the caring staff brought about a change of heart for her. She learned skills to help her deal with her issues, we saw her gain back her self esteem as she started to make better choices. It's a wonderful place and I would highly recommend it. Our daughter is doing great now and we will be forever grateful to all the wonderful people there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

If you are in need of a therapeutic boarding school or residential treatment facility give them a call. I know you will find them to be open and candid. Ask to tour and see for yourself, talk with current students. Making sure you have a good fit is critical and they will be helpful to that end. Good organization doing very difficult work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2013

I like this school because they combine so many therapeutic things to have their students not feel like they are in an institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

This place is fantastic. I have had the opportunity to work with the staff for some time now. They are excellent people that are dedicated to helping the students. They don't have the easiest job in the world, but they treat everyone with kindness and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

My niece attended this school 3 years ago. She was struggling, we were afraid for her and the staff at West Ridge Academy made all the difference in the world. They kept her safe, provided great counseling and got her caught up in school. They do a good job with very difficult circumstances.


Posted August 23, 2011

Awful school Truly incredibly awful. Was a student there from 99-01. Truly horrific experience, and this experience is similar to other alumni who graduated as I did from the program.


Posted August 13, 2010

My daughter was one of the first classes of girls to be at West Ridge Academy and it was a great experience. She came out a woman. It was wonderful. She is now in college and on the right path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2010

My son had issues with authority. He was getting into trouble at school and this caused him to get suspended a few times. We sent him to West Ridge Academy for a year and it made a big difference in his attitude and his grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 77%
Hispanic 3% 15%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Bagley Park Road
West Jordan, UT 84081
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 282-1034

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Copper Canyon School
West Jordan, UT


Jordan Hills School
West Jordan, UT


Hayden Peak School
West Jordan, UT


Oakcrest School
West Jordan, UT


Welby School
South Jordan, UT


Eastlake School
South Jordan, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT