Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monticello Academy 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
First time putting my kid in public school. The teacher very observant and support the student success. My daughter was supposed to be in Kindergarten, according to her age but the kindie placement test indicate that she's too advanced. So on the 1st day of school, she entered 1st Grade. The 1st Grade teacher then test her when she needs to group students according to their level. My daughter ended up still too advanced. The principal got involved in this and test my daughter for almost an hour 'n decide to move her to 2nd Grade (with my permission/approval) --- After 2 months passed, we attend our 1st parents-teacher conference. We learned our daughter is indeed where she supposed to be. Because even in 2nd Grade, she still on top of the lists with straight A's. I am glad that all the teachers and the principal are sensitive enough to catch a gifted student and make adjustment based on their ability and accomodate the student. They also make sure my daughter socially fit in that class. If they see that she's not emotionally ready, they won't move her. I also active volunteering in her previous class, helping other kids that kind of fall behind. Monticello Academy really care about all of their students, not only the gifted one. They try their best to accomodate every students. I definitely recommend this school!!!

Monticello Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Ms.Swasey for your determination to put Faith in the correct Grade and support her success! She won't be where she's at without your involvement. We greatly appreciate it!


Monticello Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
They encourage students to excell everyday. Giving reward to those who participate on road to success in term of reading.

Monticello Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My daughter got injured during recessed, the teacher on duty helped her out. He make sure the naughty boy know what he did wrong and make sure my daughter's fine.

Monticello Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
They test student case per case. They observed my daughter and accomodate to her needs. Despite there was no spot in 2nd Grade at that time but they make it happen. Kudos to the Principal!


Monticello Academy 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
A choir director that became so hostile, that he threw his glasses at a student, hitting him in the head, and months later is still teaching. A principal and assistant that keep "forgetting" to do transfer paperwork for my child so she failed a class She wasn't even in. A "Fee" for an after school dinner, that should be voluntary under the Utah state admin code, that we cannot pay, but they will hold her yearbook, which they cashed the check for. Stay away from this school. They are operating under very shady conditions.

Monticello Academy 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This school was a good school, my kids use to go there,( couldn't get them out fast enough under this new office staff) the many principals/director changes makes it an inconsistent place for learning. The lead/head secretary is a rude, condescending, self absorbed prima-donna and the current director is not much better to deal with. STAY AWAY if you want peace of mind. Its to bad some of the teachers are excellent and have to work under horrible conditions.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
Monticello Academy is an challenging is a great school that offers an excellent educational curriculum. The staff goes above and beyond to help the children succeed. The programs from sports to after school activities/clubs offer a wide variety of choice so kids can participate in activities that excite them. I have an 8th, 5th and Kindergartner and all have been going to there since they started school. I would not consider another school.


Monticello Academy 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My son's school is Monticello Academy. It is required to wear uniform. I like this school because the school provides a lot of different activities after school. This makes the children more fun after school. There is monthly family night in school. It has a very fun time with my child and other children's families. Now the school is planning to build a high school. I hope the high school will be built as soon as possible! Then I don't need to worry to look for a high school for my child.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Monticello Academy sets up students for success by effectively teaching students a rigorous curriculum. The teachers go above and beyond by providing interventions for struggling students and more in depth critical thinking based content as enrichment for gifted students

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monticello Academy
2782 South Corporate Park Dr, West Valley City, UT  84120
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (801) 417-8040
Last modified Monticello Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top