Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-9
Public charter
West Valley City, UT

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monticello Academy 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This school was a good school, my kids use to go there,( couldn't get them out fast enough under this new office staff) the many principals/director changes makes it an inconsistent place for learning. The lead/head secretary is a rude, condescending, self absorbed prima-donna and the current director is not much better to deal with. STAY AWAY if you want peace of mind. Its to bad some of the teachers are excellent and have to work under horrible conditions.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
Monticello Academy is an challenging is a great school that offers an excellent educational curriculum. The staff goes above and beyond to help the children succeed. The programs from sports to after school activities/clubs offer a wide variety of choice so kids can participate in activities that excite them. I have an 8th, 5th and Kindergartner and all have been going to there since they started school. I would not consider another school.


Monticello Academy 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My son's school is Monticello Academy. It is required to wear uniform. I like this school because the school provides a lot of different activities after school. This makes the children more fun after school. There is monthly family night in school. It has a very fun time with my child and other children's families. Now the school is planning to build a high school. I hope the high school will be built as soon as possible! Then I don't need to worry to look for a high school for my child.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Monticello Academy sets up students for success by effectively teaching students a rigorous curriculum. The teachers go above and beyond by providing interventions for struggling students and more in depth critical thinking based content as enrichment for gifted students

Monticello Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
I heard good coments and a excellent feedback for this school. I think they are doing a great job with kids.


Monticello Academy 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
I love Monticello! My kids have gone there since kindergarten and they love it too. They start changing classes in 4th grade and at first I thought this was too much, but it has made my son so much more responsible and organized. They are able to choose a foreign language in 4th grade and my son loves Chinese. There are a lot of expectations put on the kids but that is just the way I like it. We have lost some good teachers and so I wish the administration would do more to keep the really great ones but I'm glad my first two kids had them before they left. I think that the administartion could be more supportive but I love the parent envolvement in the school and that's what really keeps everything going so smoothly

Monticello Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
My child has been in this school since the beginning, and next year another one of our children will start there. This school is great because it focuses on education. My child has the right amount of homework each night and is given great instruction by her teachers. This school has been learning and working hard since it began, it still has a few bumps, but they learn from their mistakes and continue to grow. Highly recommend.

Monticello Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
The school focuses on learning and academic achievement. The School is not afraid to make changes and not every change has been good, however, I can say that the school has improved every year. There has been a huge effort by parents, staff and board members to improve the school and in the end that is what makes a great school . We recently moved from the area and though the public school my kids attend now is a very good (scored 8), Monticello is better. This school is not for everybody. If you do not want expectations put upon your kid and YOURSELF, then this is not the right school for you. If you believe that kids need to be challenged and that parents need to be heavily involved in their kids education (meaning sitting down and working with your child), then this may be the right school.


Monticello Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. Monticello goes beyond the basics and allows our children opportunities to excel in art, music and foreign language. Many schools are cutting art and music due to budget restraints. I am glad these subjects are included in the curriculum. It's nice that our kids get a well rounded education. Our teachers are amazing and teach a subject they are passionate about and excel in. Science teachers teach science, math teachers teach math. Other schools have teachers that teach all subjects regardless of where their strengths are.

Monticello Academy 4

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monticello Academy
2782 South Corporate Park Dr, West Valley City, UT  84120
(801) 417-8040
Last modified Monticello Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monticello Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top