Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

470 students|Granite District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carl Sandburg School 1

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
DO NOT MAKE YOUR CHILD GO HERE!!! I have NEVER had so many problems with a school.... Two of my 3 children attend, both girls. (Very bright girls) school is very important in my house hold, my children had always done well until they came to this school. Police are called here at least 3X a week, if your child is picked on they could care less and you can count on your child being in trouble for being the victim. My daughter WAS NOT ALLOWED to go to the bathroom and had an accident in the front of her whole class.... School is not prison, a child should not make up an excuse every day to not have to go to school. This school is not worth a rating even.

Carl Sandburg School
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to my children for forgiving me and making them go here. Thank you to the parents that warned me to get out and find some thing better


Carl Sandburg School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Children learn by having fun, feeling comfortable and being happy. I don't think most of the faculty offers that, let alone safety

Carl Sandburg School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
My girls don't struggle with work, it's not the homework that is the problem. It is the attitude of the administration and other surrounding problems with faculty

Carl Sandburg School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
The children and parents are most certainly determined to get new employment there or find another school


Carl Sandburg School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
No, you have to respect people to get respect from people. It's the same for children, if they don't trust you or you are mean to them. They will not respect you

Carl Sandburg School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
I do not think this school even cares about its employees. Something is very wrong with this place

Carl Sandburg School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Mean and untrustworthy, children hate it. Have never had so many problems with a school.


Carl Sandburg School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a teacher
Carl Sandburg is a great school! The teachers work hard to make sure every student can succeed. The office staff and Principal get to know the students and really care about them, as do the teachers. Each year the teachers continue taking classes to improve their skills, and there are many activities for the students to be involved in.

Carl Sandburg School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
I love this school I went here for elementary and Now my daughter and my Niece go here it's amazing how much they have excelled. My daughters Teacher is Mrs.Edwards and she is amazing, she teaches them sign language as well as everything else. She also makes youtube videos so that when your child is at home they will know as well as your self how to do the homework she also does songs to help with the homework as well. Very amazing teacher. I love this school and the staff. They never let a child be left behind on anything they will work with them until they understand it. I will recommend this school to everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carl Sandburg School
3900 South 5325 West, West Valley City, UT  84120
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (385) 646-5008
Last modified Carl Sandburg School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top