Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Granger High School

Public | 10-12 | 1696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

This school has Very helpful teachers and they. Have counselors that really do help and care about the students they also have gaap on monday mornings so if your child needs help getting there grades up they can help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Although Granger has a rating according to Great Schools test results criteria, it is a school where there is a diverse ethnic mix which adds a richness to the education our kids receive. Having recently transferred my son there from a so called 'better' school, I have found that Granger offers plenty of opportunity for students to excel. What stands out about the students of Granger High is a fierce loyalty to the school itself as well as the community and a sense of pride that is sadly lacking in many schools. I give Granger a 5 out of 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

I just came to this school and it's the best ever... =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

As a coach from the Granite School district for the past 4 years I can say that the teachers and staff at Granger care very much about the students attending the school. A lot of other schools see fit to claim the attendance of a student up until the deadline of October when they recieve their funding for that fiscal year but are quick to dump any students that do not meet a certain academic criteria. Granger does not play these games. Students are encouraged to work and given every opportunity to grow through their experience in highshool.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2007

As a graduate from the class of 2006, I can say that this school is not only exceptional, but a great community. The teachers are wonderful. To many of them, a paycheck is only a bonus. These teachers are there for students wholeheartedly. Their devotion and care is what makes this school such a great place. If there's one thing I miss about high school, it's the caring community. I have so many memories within the halls of Granger, I would never change the experience. They may never know this, but I would like to thank Vantassel, Fuller, and Gaskins for being such great human beings.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2006

I am a student at Granger High School. There are teachers at Granger that once used to be students at this school as well. Like if anyone is reading this and remembers as a student or former teaacher, Mr Folster, or Mrs Terry Biggar. Both were students and now long time teachers at Granger high. Anyway i love this school and i love living in West Valley City. Anyway if you have questions about the school or how its going then lemme know. Anyone who reads or went to this school, then take care and god bless.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2006

Granger is a wonderful school. I graduated from there in 1977. I have since had 3 children graduate from there in 2002, 2003, 2005 & my last one graduates this June (2006). I had a great time there, as did all of my children. I am proud to say I graduated from Granger High School as are my kids. It is a great school! -Kristi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

I graduated from this wonderful and excellent school, I have gained so much and have learned so much, I have had such amazing teachers that taught not only the things they teach in the classroom, but also outside of the classroom, I also loved the diversity this school has, you'd think that in such a diverse place that there would be big problems among the ethnic groups, but there wasn't any when I was there at Granger, everyone, white, black, mexicans, asians, polynesians, just got along with everyone and I think thats a big essential in today's world with rapid growth among different races and different cultures, this school is just awesome! The best high school in the state of utah! The teachers care alot about the students and how they succeed in the classroom and not only in the classroom but in the real world. -Nathan.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 21, 2005

Granger is a great school. I feel proud whenever people ask me what high school I went to and I can say Granger High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 21, 2004

Granger is an excellent school. Not only did I go there but so did my two girls. They have gained so much insight from their teachers and those around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

581 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

535 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
13%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
15%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

513 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
34%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
15%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
25%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
17%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
37%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 15%
White 35% 78%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Asian 6% 2%
Black 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3690 South 3600 West
West Valley City, UT 84119
Phone: (385) 646-5320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Young Parent Program
West Valley City, UT


Grace Baptist School
West Valley City, UT



Decker Lake Youth Center (YIC)
West Valley City, UT


Success School
Taylorsville, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT