Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Granger School

Public | PK-6 | 922 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Granger Elementary is a great school to teach at! The population is diverse which allows us all to experience the world as it is! I love the students here. They are motivated to learn, well behaved and respectful. I love the team of teachers that I work with and I am very excited about our future. The direction of education excites me and has motivated me to improve each year, as a teacher. The administration has a lot to do with that. I have been teaching for 22 years in California and Washington State. I have never felt more motivated for change and improvement than I do now. I attribute that to Granger Elementary. I live 45 minutes away and I have never considered looking for a job closer to home! All of these things add up to good experience with students, parents and staff!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

When you walk into a school you can tell a lot by how you are greeted at the front office. I have been in schools where the staff were grumpy and unresponsive. This school year at Granger, the office staff has consistently greeted me with a smile and helped me. Several times I have seen the principal in the office helping out when it gets crowded. I like that she is willing to help out. I am impressed with the positive changes I have seen at Granger and hope they continue.


Posted April 29, 2014

My school is committed to its amazing students. We are implementing incredible teaching practices to ensure our students achieve, no matter where the are at in their learning!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

One of the best things about Granger is that we are a community school. This means that we are often able to support families with basic needs such as food, clothing, and medical care. Granger is also blessed with phenomenal leadership, and a knowledgeable, caring staff. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

I love working with Granger staff and Granger families. This is one of the first schools I have worked at where the principal genuinely cares about every single student and their family. She also is very supportive and receptive to staff needs. I look forward to going to work each day at Granger and supporting young learners to be their best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

My school has a principal that has high standards and wants all students to do their best. She cares about each student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 22, 2014

My daughter is attending the preschool program. I have been impressed with the progress she has made while attending. I can always count on excellent communication from the teachers and quick responses to any concerns. I am grateful for the preschool's assistance and guidance in laying the foundation for my daughter's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

This school has some of the nicest little kids I have ever known! This school is working to meet the needs of families in the community. It is important for parents to support the school by having a good and helpful attitude.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2013

My school is continually working to meet the needs of students, parents, and the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2012

I've had children in multiple schools but this is the first one where I did not feel like my children's safety or well being was taken seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Im not going to base my 1st two experience with this rude and snobby office lady. Im sorry I had to stand their for a minute to listen to your story until you were finish to assist. I am not going to pull the race card either and just assume its just her lousy character. I hope Granger elementary does not have the same. I just called my wife and she had the same experience with her, FROM YESTERDAY TIL TODAY. 8/28-29/11.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

Who wrote these other reviews? I think their spelling/grammar may hold the clue. "Defiantely" ??? I write this review as an involved parent of an intelligent caucasian child. I can summarize this - ARE YOU FREAKIN' KIDDIN' ME? (unnerstan??). This school is so busy catering to the dominant hispanic population (who do not attempt to learn english) that my son isn't learning a thing at school. The children are violent and rude. The staff is quite helpful in trying to keep the students safe - but that is only if you have hours and hours and hours to spend down there - and a LOT of patience, and if you DEMAND something be done. HORRIBLE school. Absolutely horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I love the new building. The teachers are dedicated and excellent. They are understanding and supportive. They provided lots of resources. The reason I am giving only 4 stars is because of the lack of parental involvement. If the parents cared as much as the teachers, this school will easily become the best school in the entire nation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Granger Elementary is a fabulous school with caring and outstanding Teachers and Staff. They defiantly take the 'no child left behind' to heart; it shows. This is a school to be very proud of; although, we really need more Parent involvement, and willingness to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

A very improved school. I would recommend it to other parents.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 15%
White 21% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3702 South 1950 West
West Valley City, UT 84119
Phone: (385) 646-4852

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ensign Learning Center
West Valley City, UT


Taylorsville School
Salt Lake City, UT


Tender Touch
West Valley City, UT


Rolling Meadows School
West Valley City, UT


Stansbury School
West Valley City, UT


Redwood School
West Valley City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT