Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy Jr High School

Public | 7-9

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2008

I am always proud to say that I go to Kennedy because this school has excellent extracurricular and performing arts programs that allow us teens to feel great about ourselves and develop good social skills and self esteem. I am also happy to report that it is a very clean school, it is easy to recognize that the custodians do care for the well being of the students. School unity is also excellent, because the school gives many opportunities to be involved in sports, Academic Games, the spring musical and Peer Leadership Team; the students can experience working as teams to accomplish something greater than individuals can. In conclusion, my school is freakin' awsome and I am a very proud Kenney Crusader! :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2007

Kennedy Jr High is an excellent school. As both a parent and a substitute teacher at the school I am constantly impressed with the level of education the children receive. The teachers are more than devoted to educating students and work many hours above what is required to give students the best education opportunities possible. The dress code is remarkable and creates more equality with the students. The principal is very supportive of all groups and organizations within the school and attends nearly every sporting event, concert, art show, plays, (etc.) that the school participates in. Students are allowed every opportunity to participate in any type of program that interests them from art, band, choir, dance, and drama to woodworking, academic games, MESA, and sports all of which are top rate programs with excellent instructors that go above and beyond. I would recommend this school to anyone wanting to do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

I have two daughters that attend JFK. We are extremely satified with the education our daughters are receiving form JFK. Whenever I contact the school or visit the school I am treated with the upmost respect from the staff as well as the students I encounter. I have read other reviews about JFK online and do not agree with the negative reviews. Parent involvement in your child's education and school will bring success, lack of involvement will only lead to failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

JFK, It is one of the better schools. I have seen many junior high schools. some of them are not even in control. The uniform system creates discipline right from the beginning. It is a very structured school, I am very pleased to have my daughter in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This school has a dress code that inconsistently enforced. Every staff member has their own interpretation of it. This confuses students and parents alike. Teachers, for the most part do not answer E-mails and/or messages. Some teachers use inappropriate language in the classroom. Students feel discriminated against. Students show no respect for staff and viceversa. Parents are, most of the time, ignored. There are a few good dedicated teachers, but like I said they are only a few. Students are not challenged and are treated like thieves. This is not a very good school. I have terribly dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This school has one good thing going for it. The kids have a stricked dress code. Other then that, It's doors should probubly close. There is absolutly no feed back from the teachers, even when you spacipacly ask for it. I was able to find two teachers that were willing to keep me informed with what my children were doing in class and what help they might need. Unfortunatly the one moved to Japan and the other retired last year. The teachers never update thier grades on the net, and are unavalabel for parents to talk to ether in person or on the phone. I am sickened by the lack of education at this very poor school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

Their '0 tolerance' rule is a joke. Kids here are rude and run the teachers. I think the teachers are afraid of the students. If a child falls behind, the teachers do not let the parents know. (some people do not have access to the internet) There has not been a new thought in this school in 15 years. My children went to this school in the 80's and it was an awesome school. Now my grandkids go here and it is a good thing their parents have access to education sites on the internet to teach what the kids are not learning. The kids say the classes are so boring that they just don't want to even attend class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

The teachers do not contact the parents when the student is falling behind except through the internet. So if you don't have access to the internet you will never hear from the teacher, good or bad news. There is no extra effort to get the kids excited in their futures, the kids just wander through 3 years of junior high. The kids in the cracks that need help are just being passed over. There are lots of bullys in this school that get away with their pranks, not that no one sees them, I just think more than the kids are afraid of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

I have had three children attend Kennedy Junior High. One was involved with resource level, the second, main stream and the last in the gifted and talented program. I have worked with all phases and have been very pleased on all three levels. My son received help, encouragement and support through resource and was able to finally function main stream in highschool. He went on after high school to get an Associate Degree in Mechanics. He, and his teachers, found his strengths and 'built' on that foundation. My second child was heavily involved in sports. Because of her team mates she always had support and acceptance. She was guided well, worked hard, and her efforts rewarded her with good strong friends and self esteem. My youngest daughter had absolutely amazing opportunities through challanges and extremely hard work in the Quest program. She loved it! She excelled in dance and art, as well as all academic classes. Teachers helped her and supported her and built upon her strengths and her 'loves'. Being Korean, she was involved in MESA and was encouraged throughout her years. She earned a 5 year degree from BYU in Health & Human Performance. Graduating in 2002, she is now in her second year teaching at Jefferson Jr. She was capable of infinite directions and choices for her future but chose 'teaching' in the school system because she 'wants to make a difference too' and influence, for good, the lives of students that she comes in contact with. We, all my children and I, recognized the importance and have benefited immensely, from teachers and counselors who have sincerely cared and helped my children succeed and achieve their potential. I am, very grateful for the leadership and influence of teachers and I appreciate the quality of teachers at Kennedy. There has been positive impact upon my children and me because I chose to communicate and become involved with the school and teachers providing my children's education. Problems and obsticles can become much smaller and grow into strengths through cooperation . Thank You Kennedy for helping my children be prepared for their futures!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

This is school is very low in academics and is very unwilling to work with the parents. They do not call you when your child misses class and when you ask why they just tell you I dont know. When your child is recieving D's or F's the counsler will tell you your child is doing well. This is not well!! When the internet is watched and you ask them about a problem such as attendance and grades, homework not turned in that you know has because you have the graded papers the counsler tells you that the internet has not been updated but is shows it has. This school will pass your child just to move them on. This school has no care or attention for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
30%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 77%
Hispanic 41% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4495 South 4800 West
West Valley City, UT 84120
Phone: (385) 646-5214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Baptist School
West Valley City, UT



Life Christian Academy
Salt Lake City, UT



Hunter Jr High School
West Valley City, UT


Valley Jr High School
West Valley City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT