Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Barre, VT
Students enrolled: 839

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barre Town Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
Academically, this school is good. Socially it needs major work. We have had trouble with bullying for multiple years with almost NO help from the school. Teachers are not trained in how to recognize what is/is not bullying and need sensitivity training. The Principal wants to project the school as a "wonderful community" but is quite self-important & does not want to hear negative things that may reflect poorly on himself. The Superintendent told us our child should punch another child in the nose to get bullying to stop! It is disappointing that bullying and blatant RACISM happen here but because it is whispered it is not disciplined. It should not be a well kept secret that bullying occurs at Barre Town, own it, deal with it, make the changes. We should not have to contemplate moving so our child feels safe at school

Barre Town Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
I am a previous student of BTEMS. I would NOT send my own child to this school. While I was there, I felt unsupported in my academics. When I asked for help, I rarely received it. My friends and I were treated horribly by both students and faculty. I had a few decent teachers, but not enough to make me consider sending my child to this school. If anything, this school has taught me that when it comes to my childs education, he will receive it at a private school


Barre Town Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
If i could rate this school a .5 I would. As a former student I would rather switch districts or pay a private school to teach my children that send them here. Despite have a few decent teachers, i always fwas left behind because "i came from a background that wasn't going to get me anywhere" that isn't something you tell a 7th grade student.

Barre Town Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
my kids went the, we moved to Barre Town for the school, my daughter moved back for it and my grand kids are going to Barre Town

Barre Town Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Barre Town Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
I have nothing but good things to say about Barre Town. Excellent and nationally recognized leadership, an overall understanding and accomodating staff. I have four children at BTMES, one with an IEP. I believe they have played a large part in helping them achieve to their highest potential.

Barre Town Elementary School 1

Posted July 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barre Town Elementary School 4

Posted May 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Barre Town Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barre Town Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2007
- a parent
I have had two children go to this school and one has an IEP. I had nothing but complete cooperation from the staff with meeting requests and follow up. They really care about the kids and their success. Kudos to this school. :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barre Town Elementary School
70 Websterville Rd, Barre, VT  05641
(802) 476-6617
Last modified Barre Town Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barre Town Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top