Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monument School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Scalin is a very good teacher and my child was happy in her class.

Monument School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
I have no issue with the teachers at the school. There are a few very good teachers left, but not many. Some good teachers left due to the principal's behavior.


Monument School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My child comes home and says homework was completed at school. I feel like the homework is probably minimal or none.

Monument School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
The school test scores are abysmal and the learning environment is strongly disrupted due to the lice infestation of the school.

Monument School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
The principal calls children names and calls the counselor into her office to tell her what to say when speaking to parents. I know this because it happened while my child was in the room.


Monument School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
This school protects bullies and mistreats the victim. They have certain rules about being caring but few children adhere to those rules.

Monument School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
I do not feel this way, due to the principal's incompetence and telling the children "not to tell" their parents certain information when called into her office.

Monument School 1

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My child has been a student at Monument Elementary since kindergarten and the experience has been absolutely awful. The teachers are the only good thing about this school. Firstly, the principal as stated by another reviewer, is a serious problem. My child was coming home with bruises and cuts and I was told she was the issue and not the bully in question. The child bullying her has "problems" they said and cannot control himself. The afternoon pick up is an accident or death of a child waiting to happen, because it is extremely disorganized and overcrowded. My child is not allowed to ride the bus because we live too close to the school. The icing on the cake is the fact the school has a major lice infestation and it is not being corrected. Children are being allowed to stay in school due to a recent policy change. Parents are not treating the children for lice and it keeps being spread around. My child has had lice twice since February and it is only the beginning of April. I was told by another parent that her child has had lice five times this school year. The principal calls the children "mean" and "rude" to their face and my child has come home upset by this principal on more than one occasion. I personally think the biggest problem is the principal and if she were replaced the school would probably improve greatly. Before Donna Cauley was appointed principal, this was the best school in the district .Now I am looking into transferring my child to a private school, because this is now the worst school.


Monument School 2

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
This is our child's last year at Monument, and it has been an uneven experience. There are still a few very good teachers at the school, however over the past few years many of the staff have left the school. We live in a small community, and those teachers and staff who left are more than happy to share that they left because of the principal. We have found her to be condescending, rude, and inflexible. Her awkward leadership style at school plays and other functions is also troubling, as many parents can be seen rolling their eyes and crossing their arms while she speaks. In a very few years since her arrival, the school's test scores have plummeted. I can't say enough about the decline of the school due to it's poor leadership over the past few years.

Monument School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
My kids are so happy at this school. One of my children has be able to attend K-5 and each year we have been so satisfied with the teachers, mix of kids, and the curriculum. I think the experience is even better as my other children go through.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monument School
66 Main St, Bennington, VT  05201
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (802) 447-7979
Last modified Monument School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top