Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 165 students

We are best known for Christ centered environment.

 
 

Living in Bennington

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $852.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 18 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2011

Grace is a great school. My oldest just graduated from there in June and is doing well in college. She started going to Grace in 1st grade. She just recently wrote a blog about how much the school family meant to her through all the years and how much she loved it there. Both my girls love the close knit family environment. They also enjoy having so many international students in their school. I encourage everyone to come check out the school and meet the staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2011

Great school: teachers are involved and there is a nice, friendly atmosphere. The students pull for each other and there is very little conflict. A dream school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Both of my children have graduated from this school and are very thankful for their years at Grace. The school prepared them very well for college and now one has a Master's degree (and a good job!) and the other one is a third grade teacher in a Christian school overseas. This school is a very special place and my whole family has been richly blessed by it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2011

Best school I've been to, compared to one of the other schools I've been to. I'd tell you to go, although the teachers have no degrees, so they're horrid at grading. The administreator is the best person I've known, and she's very nice. I left because of bullying, and I still get bullied here, but it's only because I'm a little differant than the students here. My hair, my clothes, all that is different from what they dress like, other than that they're amazing/


Posted November 30, 2009

This school is amazing! My daughter not only learns about The Lord but enjoys learning about Him. The teachers and staff are all like family to her, they truly love our children. Lisa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Anyone thinking of starting your children off at GCS should do it, Mrs. Perry is the BEST kindergarten teacher anyone could ever have!! My children both attended GCS but my son left for high school but when it came time for my daughter to do the same she made a deal wtih us that she would pay half her tuition herself if we let her stay at GCS, that is how desperately she wanted to stay! Some of my daughter's friends have left and have attended public high schools and it has been sad to see that most have caved under peer pressure, GCS is a haven for our children, positive peer pressure and encouragement to do good! My husband and I are releived that our daughter made the choice to stay at GCS we could not ask for a more Christ-centered teen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Nurturing loving environment with a high regard for scholastic apptitude. Personalized attention and respect for the individual in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Grace was an fantastic educational experience for our children. We were there a bunch of years. It is a great environment for learning. The teachers are creative and challenged the children. There were standardized testing but also access to Chapter reading service for my child that needed it. They had band, plays and a choir. They are respected in the Bennington community and drew from a bunch of different churches. Go into the teacher's room at any time and you don't get the negative feelings I would get when I was in a teacher in the public schools. It is very spiritually nurturing for kids which helps the intellect to be free to thrive. We miss Grace and had to move due to my husband's work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Grace Christian School has been such an amazing experience for our children. On the last day of school last year, two of my boys came home and started playing school. Recently in the car, my 4th grader said spontaneously, 'I love Grace.' They administrators care about the whole child. They have been responsive and flexible to the needs of our family. Issues come up but they are dealt with. The environment is warm and friendly. There are around 70 churches represented from the staff, faculty and children. Our three children come home with a thirst for scripture and a desire to learn spiritual things for themselves. I love the hunger for learning and the hunger for God that our little ones come home with. The facility is beautiful. It was the old Ramada before being transformed to school that it is. I am so grateful for the sacrifice of the founders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

We have been extremely pleased with the pre-k program at Grace Christian. The teachers are warm but firm and give gentle guideance. The childen are also given ample opportunity for both structed and unstructed play. We get weekly bulletins letting us know what is up at school and how the children are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Liberty
Hudson Valley
CCV
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Joyce Lloyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (802) 442-8403

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • skiing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • skiing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We are thrilled to have a growing international population.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Liberty
Hudson Valley
CCV
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104 Kocher Drive
Bennington, VT 05201
Website: Click here
Phone: (802) 447-2233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Molly Stark School
Bennington, VT







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT