Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 165 students

We are best known for Christ centered environment.

 
 

Living in Bennington

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $852.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 18 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

Grace Christian School is a light in the Bennington community. The teachers are dedicated to providing an excellent education to strengthen students academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere - mutual respect between parents, teachers, students. Great parents - the key to student achievement is parental involvement and we have the best. Learning and achievement - Students are dedicated and teachers continue to grow as well. A great place to learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2013

Wonderful school. They go above and beyond in every way for the kids' intellectual and spiritual development. They were extremely gracious and generous when it came to financial difficulties we experienced. Truly Christian in both words and actions in how they conduct business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Grace Christian School is a WONDERFUL school! Getting involved in this super terrific school in any way, shape or form, you become part of the family. Both of my amazing nieces attended and graduated from Grace...we LOVE it!!!! :)


Posted February 20, 2013

great staff ! Caring and dedicated teachers. Such a blessing to partner with these teachers to bring my children up in the Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

It is such a blessing to come to a work place each day where God is honored openly, and working with parents to provide the best possible education for our students truly is our priority.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2011

We have been extremely blessed by our children attending Grace Christian. The school has wonderful and qualified teachers, great staff, involved parents and strong academics, but most important it is God-centered. Our children are growing each day in their walk with Christ and we could not ask for more than that. God Bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

My sons were students at Grace from it's first day back in 1997. They enjoyed a challenging academic program that prepared them well for college. They also enjoyed great relationships with Christian teachers and role models who encouraged them to think and to articulate their beliefs. The mentoring they received from coaches and dedicated teachers helped both of them become compassionate leaders in their respective universities and work places. I will always appreciate Grace Christian School and highly recommend it to any parent seeking a quality, caring, Christian education for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

Grace ChristianSchool is a wonderful place that nurtures each student and encourages them to become the person God has called them to be. The close, family atmosphere makes it easy to incorporate the school's mission to partner with parents to provide an exceptional spiritual and academic environment consistent with Biblical truth in all aspects of school life!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2011

Grace Christian school is a great place to work and grow. The kids are great and the staff is outstanding.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2011

I think Grace is really awesome. It is friendly and welcoming. You learn a lot there. The lessons are challenging and prepare you for college. The teachers are really nice you you know that they reuly care for their students.


Posted October 25, 2011

An excellent school! The high school has dedicated staff. Advanced Placement courses are available through the Seven Star online program, and the core courses will help your student grow academically. The spiritual life is excellent. As a teacher, I am blessed to serve here! Congratulations of joint ACSI and NEASC accreditation & the celebration of 15 years of service!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2011

Grace Christian School is not only a school to my son, but a loving family to my family. The teachers are kind, loving and excited about teaching our children of every age. Even the school lunches are well thought out and prepared with love! This is definately a school that you will enjoy and that will make impressionable memories on you and your childs hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

I love this environment for what it doesn't have. It doesn't have student fights, smoking, drinking, foul language, all the norms of a larger school are non existant at Grace. It leaves room for so much more character growth from the child, when those barriers are not a factor. Wonderful, caring staff and parents make the whole package a must.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

Not only a great school from a parent perspective, but my kids love attending. As a parent I chose Grace for its small class sizes, challenging academic programs and biblical teaching perspective. My kids, on the other hand, rave about the fun stuff at school - like field trips, pottery, skiing, great cafeteria food and special friends. This school is a gem in Southern Vermont!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I have an elementary student and a high school senior. Grace Christian has provided an academic environment that has allowed both to excel while gaining in confidence and character development. I am strongly recommending Grace Christian as a parent, as a local pastor, and as a board member at the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

I graduated from Grace Christian School and am very thankful that I did. The teachers are excellent due to their love for teaching, the students, and Christ. If a student is struggling in a certain area, the teachers will always be willing to go the extra mile to help encourage and teach them what they do not understand. For the students who are more advanced, the teachers find ways to challenge them in their coursework. They want their students to reach their full potential. You will become so close to your classmates that many times you feel like famly. I have met some of the most important people in my life through going to this school. It encouraged me in my faith. There is always someone to speak to (teachers, staff, etc) about any struggles you have whether it be spiritual or personal.


Posted September 13, 2011

Grace is a fantastic educational facility! I have had children at Grace since the first year of the school (1997) and I couldn't be happier. My oldest is succeeding at an academically challenging university and my youngest will be graduating soon and has already received early acceptance to the college of his choice. I believe that Grace is the reason they have been able to succeed academically. Spiritually Grace has nurtured them along their Christian walk from the time they accepted Jesus as their Savior into young adulthood. Five words: Worth every penny of tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

My children have excelled at GCS. Academically they do excellent, but it is the caring teachers and staff that have made our experience so unique. They are encouraged, prayed for and challenged on a daily basis to live as Jesus walked. The atmosphere is also special in that the older students look out for and nuture the younger students. GCS has been a blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Grace is a great school. My oldest just graduated from there in June and is doing well in college. She started going to Grace in 1st grade. She just recently wrote a blog about how much the school family meant to her through all the years and how much she loved it there. Both my girls love the close knit family environment. They also enjoy having so many international students in their school. I encourage everyone to come check out the school and meet the staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Liberty
Hudson Valley
CCV
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Joyce Lloyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (802) 442-8403

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • skiing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • skiing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We are thrilled to have a growing international population.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Liberty
Hudson Valley
CCV
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104 Kocher Drive
Bennington, VT 05201
Website: Click here
Phone: (802) 447-2233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Molly Stark School
Bennington, VT







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT