Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Benson, VT
Students enrolled: 131

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benson Village School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a community member
This school is great! It provides a great learning experience, but the students only get what they give, and to summarize that, I mean that they need to pay attention in class so they know the standards in order for High School.

Benson Village School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a teacher
Benson Village School has been on the cutting edge of technology for five years now. They offer an after school computer club for students, programming is integrated into the classroom curricula, 3D Printing and learning how to use CAD programs for creation of 3D printed objects, Robotics and Minecraft in conjunction with Printcraft, and elementary game design. Their technology director is always looking for new and better ways to instruct the students in true digital literacy.


Benson Village School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a community member
This School does not have problem with drugs at all! Unlike any other school I have seen. The teachers care about the students, but they will not allow them to be defiant. I have secretly monitored this school by taking surprise visits, and the majority of these students are really really smart! This town is friendly and after two months you should know majority of the people here. As a citizen I think that you should get a house close to town since that where all the friendly people are!

Benson Village School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
The principal of BVS is ineffective and lazy, communication from the school is beyond terrible. The K-2 teachers are pretty good, I can't comment on the grades beyond that. If your child has special needs forget this school, they will go above and beyond to make sure your child does NOT get help. If your child is gifted it's even worse the standards here are so low. We truly wish we could afford private school and have considered home-schooling. We were greatly disappointed when the School Board interpreted the "survey" wrongly when over 40% of the respondents wanted to bus kids to Castleton or Fair Haven and close the school. If your family values education do not move to this town.

Benson Village School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is awful . The teachers are not nice . And If your child needs extra help forget about getting any here . Simple questions a principal should know she does not!


Benson Village School 1

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
'the principal has never been a teacher. The principal is totally ineffective concerning IDEA issues. There is no staff support. A very sad school. Too bad, because the teachers are wonderful, despite all odds.

Benson Village School 2

Posted August 05, 2012
- a parent
Caring, experienced staff but unfortunately far too much trash/drama in this community. People complain about the school's leadership but are unwilling to fork over the tax dollars to hire a professional who can handle this mess of a town. It is sad because there are many wonderful students and staff members being overshadowed by a few bad apples.

Benson Village School 1

Posted May 27, 2012
- a community member
This is a very bad school, teachers as well and students bullied me and I did not leaf safe at this school.


Benson Village School 2

Posted August 28, 2011
- a community member
Almost three years of fighting and still not able to get the school to act as required under idea. this is a sad school for kiddos with disability's. OCR and Vermont human rites commotion investigations aside the administrator will do all in her power to make things as difficult as she can in spite of her students needs. To bad the housing bubble burst we may need to sell and move to get our child what he needs.

Benson Village School 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
Benson Village School rocks! The principal and staff are amazing. They care deeply about each and every kid and make sure they get what they need. I am always impressed with the adults. And, all kids are lucky to go there!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benson Village School
32 School St, Benson, VT  05743
(802) 537-2491
Last modified Benson Village School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benson Village School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top