Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
116 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hilltop Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
Based on my experience with this school, they develop a 'Survival of the Fittest' mentality in their students that nurtures bullying and aggressive behavior.

Hilltop Montessori School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
this school not only didn't address a significant bullying situation in their pre-school classes; but seemed to defend the bullies (again, one of them being a teachers son). No disciplinary action was ever taken against the boys, we pulled our daughter from the school and it is my belief that this school forever altered my daughters once outgoing personality and her passion for school and learning.


Hilltop Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
this school not only didn't address a significant bullying situation in their pre-school classes; but seemed to defend the bullies (again, one of them being a teachers son). No disciplinary action was ever taken against the boys, we pulled our daughter from the school and it is my belief that this school forever altered my daughters once outgoing personality and her passion for school and learning.

Hilltop Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
This school not only didn't address a significant bullying situation in their pre-school classes; but seemed to defend the bullies (again, one of them being a teachers son). No disciplinary action was ever taken against the boys, we pulled our daughter from the school and it is my belief that this school forever altered my daughters once outgoing personality and her passion for school and learning.

Hilltop Montessori School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a current student and find the leadership and staff to be strong and parents passionate. The new campus is lovely and it has been a year of many transitions, with more to come with a new head of school in 2010-11. In this time of change he school has stayed true to its philosphy while developing independent, critical thinkers, who are taught peace and respect in a safe and supportive environment. I feel fortunate to have my child in this learning enviroment.


Hilltop Montessori School
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
As parents of two alums we are extremely pleased with this school and its leadership and the quality of the teachers. Teaching our students responsible independence is the goal and they are doing great things. Also, a new campus is on the horizon.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2007
- a student
Hilltop is a fantastic, nurturing environment that emphasizes individual development in a noncompetetive environment. It succeeds in emphasizing achievement without the pressure of grades or tests, and prepares its students more than adequately for whatever they may meet in high school and beyond.

Hilltop Montessori School 3

Posted July 29, 2007
- a student
The teachers are excellent, and the setting is beautiful and supportive. It's just that there is a lot of stress between parent, staff and the head of school.


Hilltop Montessori School 3

Posted January 13, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are very nice and we love the philosophy. However, the communication at the school is quite poor. The administrators are not very good at giving straight answers. Parents seem to be happy to chaperone field trips, but not attend the parent education series or the parent association meetings. Overall, our experience has not been the one we hoped for.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted May 29, 2004
- a parent
Hilltop offers students a blend of academic excellence, intellectual development and focus on the importance and dynamics of community, achieving one's best rather than competing against others. Teachers are remarquably multi talented individuals, and are truly dedicated to the kids. Our son has become more thorough in his work, developed good work habits, and absolutely love going to school everyday.

Nearby schools

Hilltop Montessori School
120 Summit Circle, Brattleboro, VT  05301
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (802) 257-0500
Last modified Hilltop Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top