Advertisement
Advertisement

Christ the King School

Private | PK-8 | 244 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2012

We started at CKS because of the teachers, admin and values. It was great until recent years when the admin changed and some of the teachers did as well. A number of long time students (like us -been there more then 6 grades) have left due to all the changes. No longer a sense of family and good community. Parents don't feel they are listened to. Used to be fabulous. Hope they get their groove back soon before it really declines. Still SOME great teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

CKS is not very receptive to parents volunteering in the classroom and this concerns me. I sent my child to CKS because her education is my priority and I was lead to believe that there were opportunities to volunteer in the classroom only to learn that this is not the case. This is the first year since my daughter has been going to school that I have not volunteered in her classroom. It has been well documented and is my opinion that teachers who have classroom support do their job better. And parents who participate in the classroom are better equipped to support their child's schoolwork. If interested in volunteering in the classroom, be sure to discuss this with your child's teacher and not just the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I am a past student of Christ the King and I loved going there. The teachers are amazing and loving working with the kids. If you are looking for a good religious school, this one is for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2008

You won't be able to find a better school! Solid Catholic values are taught throughout the day. Children as young as 3 begin taking French, Technology, Art, Library etc. Truly amazing Teachers and the Principle knows every student by name. Great Parent participation and Father Rivard is wonderful. I have a Third Grader and a Preschooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

CKS has an outstanding PS (age 3 start) program that prepares children for a very smooth transition into the PK learning atmosphere. I have seen my son and his classmates just blossom and become sponges seeking knowledge about everything! CKS offers a strong family feeling for students and parents. Although a catholic school with strong beliefs, a non-catholic child/family does not feel like an outsider. All students receive wonderful school support in sports and educational endeavors. I recommend this school to anyone seeking a quality, caring, safe, educational enviroment with super parental involvement, a tremendous faculty, and involved, caring administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Excellent educational facility with a loving Catholic environment. Small size means students get a feeling of belonging and receive the attention they need to prepare for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 94%
Asian 3% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Burlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

136 Locust Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: (802) 862-6696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Champlain School
Burlington, VT


Edmunds Middle School
Burlington, VT



Vermont Torah Academy
Burlington, VT


The Baird School
Burlington, VT


Mater Christi School
Burlington, VT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT