Advertisement
Advertisement

Rock Point School

Private | 9-12 | 40 students

We are known for helping students get back on track academically and personally

 
 

Living in Burlington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $226,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Rock Point School fosters an extraordinary sense of community among staff and students that is entirely unlike anything I have before witnessed. In this setting, students are supported to speak and act openly, without fear of inciting derision of close-minded peers. They are instilled with an awareness of communal responsibility, via daily chores, school meetings, and community service. Indeed, the whole school is built around the principle of self-improvement. Though the classroom environment is structured to ensure that no student is left behind, teachers are willing to challenge the more academically-inclined students to push themselves further. If a student proves himself/herself deserving of independence, then the administration will not hold that student back. During my time as a student, I was actively encouraged to pursue a number of opportunities outside of the school, from involvement in community theatre to attendance of night courses in foreign languages. At Rock Point, students are treated like unique individuals, with interests and passions. They receive as much respect and responsibility as they show. I think that is truly rare and incredible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2013

Do not attend Rock Point School if you intend to pursue any tech career. They have a xenophobic attitude toward technology that is prohibitive toward vocational learning for your field. They do not even teach how to type, and will often revoke school computer permissions for all students due to a disciplinary conflict with one student. This is a continuing trend over prior decades - enforced regulations impacting student life created from the actions of a single individual, as opposed to disciplinary action for them only. Do not expect to be supported in life skills and social interaction with the public, you will be encouraged to contain your life within the building. Recent hiring changes have laid off several teachers and restructured the administration. If you attend, expect strong resistance from the administration against anything they do not/can not understand: Internet access, programming, etc. Read the handbook before you attend, too. A good school, really, but pointless and miserable when you can't do what you need to in order to succeed if you're a techie.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2012

This will be our son's second year at this school. If you are looking for a school that will help your child "find" whom he/she is or if you are looking at an educational climate that is about as free from bullying as an institution can make it, then you have found your school at Rock Point. This school is a place where your student will receive a 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th chance to discover what they are doing to themselves and to others and finally get that " AHA!!" moment so many mainstream kids pick up with little effort. This is NOT a therapeutic school, but is a supportive one. They will take a chance on your child if you will, and more importantly--your child will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Rock Point School is amazing. My son attended for all four years and he grew into a wonderful, considerate, respectful, and intelligent young man who is now in the process of joining the military. He was exposed to caring adults who really knew him and could accept him for all that he is. They cared about him and held him responsible for his decisions. He was part of a community who worked and played together. It was always a joy to visit him at school and see how much he belonged and how he was valued as a student and as a person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Rock Point is life changing. It is for students who want to change, and be the best that can be, but for some reason or another, do not have the resources or have gotten off track. I went to Rock Point as a freshman and it was the best decision of my life prior to that point. I am now a successful college student at an amazing liberal arts school. Not only did Rock Point help me turn my life around, the staff always saw the good in me, even if I could not yet see it in myself. They pushed me academically and artistically, as well as socially. I learned to be the person that I always thought I could be, but never knew how to become.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2007

Our daughter spent her junior and senior years at Rock Point and emerged as a confident, competent and well prepared young adult. Rock Point was a small, nurturing environment that recognized and developed her strengths as well as identifying and supporting her as she improved in areas that needed help. The Rock Point community of staff and teachers is phenomenal. They are a group of caring and dedicated people who are involved in every aspect of student life at Rock Point. Our daughter is now a successful and happy college freshman thanks to the preparation that she received during her years at Rock Point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Our daughter recently graduated from Rock Point School. We were very impressed with Rock Point and have only positive things to say about the school s staff and model. The dorm staff, administrators, teachers, and support staff are remarkably knowledgeable, humane, insightful, supportive, devoted, enthusiastic, and constructive in their approach to teens and their families. Rock Point s admissions process is extraordinarily thorough, which enhances the likelihood that students who enroll are a good fit and will thrive. Rock Point accurately describes itself as a school for students who have struggled in traditional school settings, done lots of hard work, and are on their way up. We were particularly impressed with Rock Point's use of constructive behavior management tools, extending the leash and pulling it in as needed for each student. Staff are always thinking about ways to provide students with constructive social and educational challenges, appropriate incentives, and reasonable, fair consequences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

We have found that for the tuition of this school that after graduating you can not attend any thing other than a community college without your child attending the public school at an additional cost for the classes. If we wanted our child in public school then we wouldn't have put her in a boarding school. We have also found that the supervision of the children does not meet the standards of most parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 94%
Hispanic 9% 1%
Black 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school any middle school
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone- various languages
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 5:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-modal, engaging, inter-active
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone- various languages
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • executive functioning supports
Transportation options
  • most students live at school
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Skiing
  • Snowboarding
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Skiing
  • Snowboarding
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Parent-Teacher conferences
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
any middle school

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$25000 - $40000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Rock Point Rd
Burlington, VT 05408
Phone: (802) 863-1104

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hull Crest School
Burlington, VT



Colchester High School
Colchester, VT


Rice Memorial High School
South Burlington, VT


So. Burlington High School
South Burlington, VT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT