Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sustainability Academy at Lawrence Barnes

Public | K-5 | 183 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2010

A great school in a great community. It is too bad that the new principal is so out of touch with our neighborhood, but this is no reason not to send your kids to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The diversity, and the involvement of the parents in keeping this school going. There are a lot of students there from different cultures and countries and I have done a reading program there and it is a delight to be in the building. The spirit is in the air.


Posted November 5, 2009

It is simply amazing in more ways I can explain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I've worked at several schools throughout my career and I've never worked with such a devoted, professional and caring staff! The incredibly diverse children and families that we work with are also amazing in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Kids find a way to reach across sociocultural barriers to find laughter and commonground. They embrace diversity as part of their everyday world, and will continue to look for it beyond Barnes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Why Do I love Barnes school? I love it because I can go and visit my kids almost anytime. I it because you get a warm feeling when you walk into the school like cheers the bar where everybody knows your name. I it because my kids come home from school happy and well taken care of. I 100% trust everyone in the school and the care they provide my children. The parents of the children and most of the community feel like family and its nice when you can have that for a school. These and a million other reasons is why I love Barnes. Barnes is part of the community and the community is part of Barnes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Who wouldn't like the place that teaches and takes care of your children and all of their friends so well everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

We're the country's first magnet school for sustainability. Sustainability is modeled in every element of the curriculum - from the waste stream to livable wages to the way history is taught using local communities. This school really is the cornerstone of a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Ms. O'Connor, my son's first grade teacher, is making a tremendous positive change in his life! And the dedication of the community(kids, parents, staff) to this school is like none I have ever seen or experienced!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The Sustainability Acadamy at Lawrence Barnes school is the first of its kind in Vermont. As a new magnet school, Barnes Sustainability Acadamy has integrated into its curriculum key sustainability concepts of environmental stewardship; economic justice; civic engagement; and equity. Children from all walks of life attend the Barnes Sustainability Academy and are fully engaged in activities such as gardening; student government; live laboratories at local farms located in the City of Burlington; local history research; and service learning. Parents participate extensively in magnet school program design by teaching Afterschool courses; sitting on parent-teacher committees; and bringing diverse talents from many cultures into the classroom. There are over 9 languages spoken by families that attend Barnes and an active PTO that regularly organizes community dinners where multi-cultural fare is often included.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The Sustainability Academy at Lawrence Barnes school has been an incredible part of my family's life for more than 5 years and our lives are made more wonderful day by day because of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Our neighborhood school has one of the most diverse student bodies in Vermont, active parent groups who reach out to us non-parents, a curriculum focus on sustainability, kids and teachers who are involved in their community, and a fine new principal.


Posted February 14, 2008

Both of our children have received excellent individualized teaching. The school has taught our children community and leadership skills and given them the opportunity to interact with children from many different backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Barnes is a wonderful, small, caring school. Kids get a lot of staff attention. There is a very dedicated group of involved parents. My child's teacher is amazingly creative, and I'm very pleased with the progress he's made academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I have two children who attend Barnes and my family has found the entire experience to be horrifying to say the least. There is rampant bullying (that goes unpunished), a lack of effort put forth from the 'educators', and a general attitude of apathy on every level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

I have had 5 kids at Barnes - the Jewel of the Burlington School District. The teachers are experienced and amazing. Each goes out of their way to create individual education plans for each student. Every adult in the school - from the principal to the janitor - work together to create a consistant, safe, fun educational environment. The student to teacher ratio is exceptional and the special educators are too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

My middle daughter and son came to this school from Tx. I feared that they had not been given enough education there in order to be able to walk in and feel comfortable with their knowledge of the classroom. I found that not only is the school awesome about making no child feel awkward about social standing, but that the teachers there seem to go above and beyond to make sure the children are stimulated and productive. There after school program is wonderful, as it gives our family away to help harness the energy of our children, and they are amoungst friends and learning all at the same time. My children love this school, and look forward to the tearchers and friends there. When I have come to volunteer I have been welcomed, when I had to confront discpline problems with my own children, they backed me completly. A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%

Reading

All Students53%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female32%
Male49%
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)25%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%

Reading

All Students51%
Female41%
Male60%
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)45%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%

Science

All Students50%
Female36%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%

Reading

All Students57%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%

Writing

All Students31%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 93%
Black 21% 2%
Asian 11% 2%
Hispanic 4% 1%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

123 North St
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: (802) 864-8480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph School
Burlington, VT




Vermont Torah Academy
Burlington, VT


Mater Christi School
Burlington, VT


Christ the King School
Burlington, VT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT