Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Burlington, VT
Students enrolled: 203

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 5

Posted July 18, 2010
- a parent
A great school in a great community. It is too bad that the new principal is so out of touch with our neighborhood, but this is no reason not to send your kids to this wonderful school.

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
The diversity, and the involvement of the parents in keeping this school going. There are a lot of students there from different cultures and countries and I have done a reading program there and it is a delight to be in the building. The spirit is in the air.


Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
It is simply amazing in more ways I can explain!

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
I've worked at several schools throughout my career and I've never worked with such a devoted, professional and caring staff! The incredibly diverse children and families that we work with are also amazing in so many ways.

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
Kids find a way to reach across sociocultural barriers to find laughter and commonground. They embrace diversity as part of their everyday world, and will continue to look for it beyond Barnes.


Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
Why Do I love Barnes school? I love it because I can go and visit my kids almost anytime. I it because you get a warm feeling when you walk into the school like cheers the bar where everybody knows your name. I it because my kids come home from school happy and well taken care of. I 100% trust everyone in the school and the care they provide my children. The parents of the children and most of the community feel like family and its nice when you can have that for a school. These and a million other reasons is why I love Barnes. Barnes is part of the community and the community is part of Barnes.

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Who wouldn't like the place that teaches and takes care of your children and all of their friends so well everyday!

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
We're the country's first magnet school for sustainability. Sustainability is modeled in every element of the curriculum - from the waste stream to livable wages to the way history is taught using local communities. This school really is the cornerstone of a great community.


Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Ms. O'Connor, my son's first grade teacher, is making a tremendous positive change in his life! And the dedication of the community(kids, parents, staff) to this school is like none I have ever seen or experienced!

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
The Sustainability Acadamy at Lawrence Barnes school is the first of its kind in Vermont. As a new magnet school, Barnes Sustainability Acadamy has integrated into its curriculum key sustainability concepts of environmental stewardship; economic justice; civic engagement; and equity. Children from all walks of life attend the Barnes Sustainability Academy and are fully engaged in activities such as gardening; student government; live laboratories at local farms located in the City of Burlington; local history research; and service learning. Parents participate extensively in magnet school program design by teaching Afterschool courses; sitting on parent-teacher committees; and bringing diverse talents from many cultures into the classroom. There are over 9 languages spoken by families that attend Barnes and an active PTO that regularly organizes community dinners where multi-cultural fare is often included.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes
123 North St, Burlington, VT  05401
(802) 864-8480
Last modified Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sustainability Academy At Lawrence Barnes Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top