Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charlotte Central School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
This school supports children on their way to highschool and college. Every person I know who graduated from CCS has passed with flying colors. Highschool, graduators from CCS are at the top of their class! They also have an amazing cross-country team!!!! Soccer too! At CVU, half of the varsity team is charlotte basketball players. Really, the answer is simple, go to ccs!!!! - student

Charlotte Central School
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
I want to say thanks to all the amazing teachers. Also the food is delicious!!!


Charlotte Central School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
I really like this school! its amazing!!! Every day I learn something new! why did my amazing parents choose to have me go to this school? Because, this school has an AMAZING education! Also, it has lots of fun opportunities. This school is the real world. Your going to have fights with your friends. It not going to be your perfect fantasy. But its pretty close.

Charlotte Central School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Bullying problem swept under the rug. Students who are bullies are not held accountable or even called on this behavior

Charlotte Central School 1

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Bully haven with oblivious administration, useless guidance counselors, and teachers in denial. I wrote the first 5 star review on this site in 10/08 and cannot figure out how to edit or delete it. Thus, while my children no longer attend CCS (I pulled them out due to bullying) I feel obligated to warn other parents and retract all of my former praise for this school. A rampant bullying problem exists at CCS, one the administration does not properly address. Ultimately, as many families before us, we moved out of the district due to it. If your child is cookie cutter normal, he or she may be fine at CCS. If your child is different, unique, or refuses to conform (i.e., won't follow fashion dictated by 13 year old mean girls or play sports with rowdy boys or may be LGBT) he or she will be harassed, targeted, and bullied until life is hell. For instance, one of my daughters refused to conform in seventh grade - she didn't want to wear pink, worship Bieber, carry lip gloss, and date anyone (dating frequently begins at this school as early as 5th grade). As a result, she was told on a daily basis that she was a freak, ugly, fat, stupid, and should harm or kill herself. When reporting such behavior to the then employed guidance counselor Mrs. B., my daughter found no support. Instead, she was asked if she was lying because "these kids are so nice' or had done anything to warrant such treatment. The final straw was a petition shoved into her locker, signed by EVERY child in the 2011-12 seventh grade requesting that my daughter kill herself. Given the wealth of the community and the need of the school for community fundraising and additional financial support, it's clear, although not in any way defensible, why they don't tackle the issue of bad behavior with the parents of these kids. It goes without saying that approaching mommy and daddy directly about their budding sociopath accomplishes nothing. The kids learned this entitled toxic behavior at home after all.


Charlotte Central School 3

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
CCS like many elementary schools in the state has a reasonably creative curriculum that has some unexpected gaps . The math program is disjointed and not rigorous and the science program (with the exception of the 5/6 program) is almost non existent. There are some great teachers who do a wonderful job and there are a very high number who are approaching retirement and have either checked out or do the exact same thing year in and year out. There are some significant issues with the 7/8 grade program in terms of the rigor (especially in math and science) and getting students prepared for high school. There have also been some concerns with behavior in the middle school (which the school is addressing). The school does prepare students well for state tests but some teachers spend a significant amount of time doing so. Great parent involvement due to the working nature of the community.

Charlotte Central School 3

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
Such a great community in Charlotte, that I have been so surprised at what a disappointment CCS has been for us. In Kindergarten, during the half day portion of the year, they would only go out for recess once or twice a week. There were no 'units' in kindergarten, only the parent directed Four WInds program, so no themes or sections on the world or science (i.e. dinosaurs, space, plants, US Map). Plus, there is no show and tell or plays put on by the kids. It's so uninspired! The teachers seem to be struggling with class size and just do just what's required, and even have a hard time with that. I am really hoping 1st grade offers more. Other parents have assured me it gets better after kindergarten, but what a terrible way to introduce families to your school with such an unimpressive first year. This experience coupled with the failing of the bond vote twice really concerns me. I hope the new principal will step up and get these checked out teachers back on track, and reward those teachers who work hard to reach every kid and inspire learning.

Charlotte Central School 4

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
I would agree that CCS has great support systems for any child who needs academic support. My daughter was given a reading tutor every day even without an IEP, 504 or EST plan. The school is in transition now with two new administrators, major constructions and a new math curriculum on the horizon, and the budget went down (twice) this year for the first time in anyone's memory. So it remains to be seen how this will all pan out, but my 1st grader loves school!


Charlotte Central School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
One of the best schools (public or private) in the state. Excellent teachers, low student/teacher ratios, foreign language beginning in kindergarten, very responsive and proactive approach with kids struggling academically.

Charlotte Central School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
I have three kids at CCS and it is a fabulous school. We moved from Burlington, Vermont to Charlotte specifically for the schools. When my elementary school children attended public school in Burlington, they were top of their class. Imagine my surprise when two of my children starting school in Charlotte and were actually a bit behind! Not to worry since CCS provided daily extra support, such as working with a reading specialist on a one on one basis. Within a year, both kids had caught up. The teachers and principal are great. There is also a real sense of school community. Of course, taxes are high, but they are everywhere in Vermont. Personally, I'm happy to pay an extra few hundred bucks a year in property tax for outstanding schools. BTW, the schools in Burlington, where taxes are still high, are substandard at best and annually deemed to be 'failing.'

Nearby schools

Charlotte Central School
408 Hinesburg Rd, Charlotte, VT  05445
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (802) 425-2771
Last modified Charlotte Central School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top