Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
East Dover, VT
Students enrolled: 112
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
What isn't there to say about this school... Tremendous teachers, nice facilities, great location, outdoorsy, and now placing students at both Twin Valley and Burr and Burton. What a great option for families. As a product of Dover Elementary, and now being very aware of how far ahead I was compared to kids out of other elementary schools, I can't even remotely think of anything negative to say. A great school!

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Our children have experienced some great schools throughout the US in their short school career, however we have found The Dover School to be exceptional. Their focus on the individual needs of the child allowed our kids to quickly acclimate to school after our move last fall. Mr. Anton, the principal is a genuine, kind, and inventive leader. The teachers are all extremely dedicated, always seeming to strike the perfect balance between supporting and challenging their students. We are so grateful to have found what we believe is the ideal school for our children.


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
The caring, supportive and outgoing environment at Dover School brings out the best in its students. Dover School encourages students to exceed expectations in both their academic performance as well as their civic responsibility in being a member of the Dover community. This is an amazing school and you can sense that as soon as you step inside its doors.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
Our expectations were high and were exceeded! We had read the reviews, noted the exceptional test scores, did a site visit and spoke other parents. We found out quickly that all we had heard and seen was absolutely true.The Dover School is an exceptional place. The people at The Dover School from the principal, teachers, students, volunteers and parents were all so welcoming, kind and helpful.They made the transition for our son and our family so easy. The academics are rigorous but the kids all rise to the challenge with hard work, support from the staff and help from each other. Our son has made huge leaps forward and we are impressed every day by what he is learning and how much he enjoys it! Unfortunately, there is no way to get the "spirit" of The Dover School to show through in a written review. If you are considering a move to the area I highly recommend stopping in. Meet with the principal, Mr. Anton and take a tour. Come to School Sing on a Friday morning have coffee and desserts with other parents and see it for yourself.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
When you walk through the door you truly understand the reason why Dover School is rated second best small public school in Vermont. You are Always greeted with warm and caring consideration. My child has excelled at this school with teacher accommodation to her individualized learning curve. One thing the school does not have is a special education dept. When I asked how this could be, the principal told me that all of his teachers are highly trained in differentiated instruction and if the teacher can provide special educational needs in the classroom , then there is no need for a special educator. This school is small, quaint, and sincere in its strive for excellence. They have a great after school program, a new 5-week summer program, music, art, PE, health, technology and a school counselor on-site. They do not have a full time school nurse and that is my only criticism. Otherwise, Dover school is superior. The staff is high caliber, the students are kind to one another and the parents work together to host various events throughout the year. Dover School is a community school with an eye toward our children's future.


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
Couldn't be better. The principal and teachers are highly respected by students and parents alike. A small country school with all the choices of a larger city school. During the winter one afternoon a week is devoted to the students going skiing or snowboarding at Mount Snow. Or if theyu choose other outdoor or indoor activities.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
The Dover School is one of a kind. The principal, Bill Anton, has created an environment where positive attitudes and flexibility are resulting in motivated students who enjoy going to school and learning. The teachers don't teach to standardized tests, but the test scores are the proof that his formula works. Technology is integrated into the classwork, making students more tech savvy while giving them the flexibility to work at their own pace on material customized to their interests. Our son attends Dover School and is a national snowboard competitor with an intense training schedule required during the winter. Not only did the Dover School work to accommodate his special needs, but his teacher (Michael Degnon) made sure to keep an eye on his ability to do the after hours work needed to keep pace with his peers throughout his competitive season. From the principal greeting all students with a smile and a cheer at the door each day to the unique tradition of Friday morning sing with students and their parents each week, The Dover School is one of a kind and treats each of their students as a one of a kind community asset worthy of the time investment.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
Dover Elementary School is a top notch school from the Principal to the teachers, including a great music program, to the staff and the BOE and parents as well. Everyone is doing their best to make sure the kids are doing well, now and into the future. Class sizes are small enough for the teachers to be able to recognize individual students talents and needs and give the kids a better education. Dover school played a large factor in our family moving to this community as well as the skiing which is part of the school program as well.


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
I spent a good deal of time researching local schools in preparation for relocating to the area in August 2012 . It quickly became clear that The Dover School was the perfect spot for us. Our boys' teachers often surprise us with their creativity and flexibility in teaching style. Despite being a small school, the technology in the classroom is cutting-edge. The principal engages with each family--he even knew our infant daughter's age in weeks! It's also clear he allows the teachers the room to be innovative in the classroom. Overall, a great school with fantastic teachers and staff. There's no question that we made the right decision in choosing The Dover School for our children.

Dover Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
Our son was in the first pre-K class at Dover School and went through all 8 years with substantially the same group of children. You can imagine the ups and downs you either get along with those kids or you don't! The community is strong, the teachers are professional, the school board is committed heart and soul. He was nurtured and challenged and by the end of his time there he felt like he owned the place. Dover has no school above 6th grade and so sends its students to their choice of middle and high schools. It is the opinion of the kids we know that Dover kids are tops in all the public middle schools in the county b/c of the great preparation they get in 5-6th grade. Besides those things, the public is invited to school sing every Friday morning. The whole school and 30-40 visitors all fit in one room. We did that once or twice a month for six years. How can you beat that?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dover Elementary School
9 Schoolhouse Rd, East Dover, VT  05341
(802) 464-5386
Last modified Dover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dover Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top