Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We recently moved to Dover and could not be happier with the education our 3 children are receiving. The Dover School is a small school but has all the aspects one envisions in a great school. The environment is warm and inviting and the academics are rigorous and challenging. The teachers are true professionals who are able to differentiate instruction and tailor the curriculum to meet the needs of each individual leaner. The school sing on Fridays is such a joy to attend as you watch the whole school, pre-k through 6th grade, singing and dancing to good old-fashioned folk songs. Each school day starts off with great excitement as Mr.Anton, the principal, greets every single child personally with a high-five and smile. In the few months we have been at the Dover School, we have noticed an environment that fosters a love of learning and a staff who finds great joy in educating young minds. We are so happy to be a part of this great community and one can sense the pride just upon entering the front door.

Dover Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Baker, the kindergarten teacher is exceptional in every way. The children are so excited to learn and are so cared for throughout the day. She is compassionate, understanding and knows how to teach emerging reading/ writing skills as well as developing math concepts. She truly loves being an educator and does so with the utmost enthusiasm!


Dover Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
We love the Dover School. My daughter is going into third grade and has had a great experience every year since she started in pre-K. The teachers do a good job of teaching to different learning styles and accelerating or slowing down the pace of the curriculum based on individual students’ needs. This is a school that believes in educating the whole student, meaning that music, art, physical education, and foreign language (in this case Spanish) are all part of the curriculum. Although the Dover School is small and rural, it is tech-savvy and has smart boards in every classroom, as well as a computer lab and Chrome books that every student uses starting in second grade. Another quality that sets the Dover School apart is its willingness to continue raising the bar, even when test scores and other student outcomes are already strong. Several years ago the school began the process of becoming an International Baccalaureate school. IB schools follow a very holistic, interdisciplinary approach to education that encourages life-long learning. Students are encouraged to be open, curious, and active in their own learning. The IB curriculum also emphasizes global citizenship and the importance of learning about other cultures and countries in an increasingly interconnected world. This approach has integrated well with the Common Core standards. I would encourage families who are thinking about moving to this area to visit the Dover School and see for themselves why this school community is so effective at building confident, well-rounded kids. As the school motto says, “Work hard. Be kind.”

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
What isn't there to say about this school... Tremendous teachers, nice facilities, great location, outdoorsy, and now placing students at both Twin Valley and Burr and Burton. What a great option for families. As a product of Dover Elementary, and now being very aware of how far ahead I was compared to kids out of other elementary schools, I can't even remotely think of anything negative to say. A great school!

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Our children have experienced some great schools throughout the US in their short school career, however we have found The Dover School to be exceptional. Their focus on the individual needs of the child allowed our kids to quickly acclimate to school after our move last fall. Mr. Anton, the principal is a genuine, kind, and inventive leader. The teachers are all extremely dedicated, always seeming to strike the perfect balance between supporting and challenging their students. We are so grateful to have found what we believe is the ideal school for our children.


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
The caring, supportive and outgoing environment at Dover School brings out the best in its students. Dover School encourages students to exceed expectations in both their academic performance as well as their civic responsibility in being a member of the Dover community. This is an amazing school and you can sense that as soon as you step inside its doors.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
Our expectations were high and were exceeded! We had read the reviews, noted the exceptional test scores, did a site visit and spoke other parents. We found out quickly that all we had heard and seen was absolutely true.The Dover School is an exceptional place. The people at The Dover School from the principal, teachers, students, volunteers and parents were all so welcoming, kind and helpful.They made the transition for our son and our family so easy. The academics are rigorous but the kids all rise to the challenge with hard work, support from the staff and help from each other. Our son has made huge leaps forward and we are impressed every day by what he is learning and how much he enjoys it! Unfortunately, there is no way to get the "spirit" of The Dover School to show through in a written review. If you are considering a move to the area I highly recommend stopping in. Meet with the principal, Mr. Anton and take a tour. Come to School Sing on a Friday morning have coffee and desserts with other parents and see it for yourself.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
When you walk through the door you truly understand the reason why Dover School is rated second best small public school in Vermont. You are Always greeted with warm and caring consideration. My child has excelled at this school with teacher accommodation to her individualized learning curve. One thing the school does not have is a special education dept. When I asked how this could be, the principal told me that all of his teachers are highly trained in differentiated instruction and if the teacher can provide special educational needs in the classroom , then there is no need for a special educator. This school is small, quaint, and sincere in its strive for excellence. They have a great after school program, a new 5-week summer program, music, art, PE, health, technology and a school counselor on-site. They do not have a full time school nurse and that is my only criticism. Otherwise, Dover school is superior. The staff is high caliber, the students are kind to one another and the parents work together to host various events throughout the year. Dover School is a community school with an eye toward our children's future.


Dover Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
Couldn't be better. The principal and teachers are highly respected by students and parents alike. A small country school with all the choices of a larger city school. During the winter one afternoon a week is devoted to the students going skiing or snowboarding at Mount Snow. Or if theyu choose other outdoor or indoor activities.

Dover Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
The Dover School is one of a kind. The principal, Bill Anton, has created an environment where positive attitudes and flexibility are resulting in motivated students who enjoy going to school and learning. The teachers don't teach to standardized tests, but the test scores are the proof that his formula works. Technology is integrated into the classwork, making students more tech savvy while giving them the flexibility to work at their own pace on material customized to their interests. Our son attends Dover School and is a national snowboard competitor with an intense training schedule required during the winter. Not only did the Dover School work to accommodate his special needs, but his teacher (Michael Degnon) made sure to keep an eye on his ability to do the after hours work needed to keep pace with his peers throughout his competitive season. From the principal greeting all students with a smile and a cheer at the door each day to the unique tradition of Friday morning sing with students and their parents each week, The Dover School is one of a kind and treats each of their students as a one of a kind community asset worthy of the time investment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dover Elementary School
9 Schoolhouse Rd, East Dover, VT  05341
(802) 464-5386
Last modified Dover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6
Dover Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top