Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Street School

Public | PK-3 | 274 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2012

It's so true Summit is very political. You'll be fine if you don't question authority. Counselor is a joke as well. If you're an underdog you'll be fine. Anyone else just be ready to go with the flow, and you'd better like it. We moved here from another school district not long ago and wish we had been placed in Hiawatha. Thankfully our child will be moving on soon. The teachers are great. And the education is likely top notch. But in these early years it's more important how everything else is handled. The kids and parent's opinions need to matter... all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

Summit is a great school IF you have an inside connection, meaning you babysit for one of the teachers kids. If you do this the sky is the limit as far as the wonderful treatment for your children AND their friends. Politics is rampant and if you ask questions challenging the system your children will be left behind in the shuffle. Public schools are funded by taxpayers, however the school administrators fail to see this and are concerned with their own agenda. Try Williston if you are looking for a warm, caring, strong academic environment, why pay high taxes for a sub-par education?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Summit is an excellent school! I can't say enough great things about our experiences with Summit. Our son is in the K/1 multi-age classroom and is doing very well. He's at an advanced reading and math level, is being challenged, but not overwhelmed. Our son is in his 2nd year at Summit and gets excited about going every day. All the students seem to be very engaged and respectful. All the teachers and principal seem to know all the kids, even kids not in their class. There are a lot of great and unique programs that Summit offers that I don't think most schools in the area do. The small school size is also a big bonus. We are thinking of possibly relocating to another state and leaving Summit is a big con on our list of reasons not to leave! We would really miss this
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

We love this school. We moved out of Burlington just so that our children could attend Summit. The principle is amazing and they are adding a new natural playground to the grounds. We really like the small school size and the mixed age K-1st grade program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

We are so pleased with this school. The teachers are very caring and both our girls are getting better grades since we moved into this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

My child went to EES last year and I am so glad we moved so she could go to Summit. It has a warm inviting atmosphere and her teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Summit Street is a joke of a school. It is listed as one of the top schools but my son did so poorly in this school that I had to transfer him out. Their IEP coordinator in the school is unwilling and unable to cooperate on an individual and professional level. Hiawatha School, in the same town (less than 1 mile apart) has done wonders for my son though. He went from a level 2-13 in 8 months for reading, while at Summit in two years he went from a level 1-2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

This is a fantastic school! The faculty and staff go above and beyond with each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. As a result, GreatSchools' ratings for Vermont currently reflect 2012-13 test results, the most recent year with data for all subjects.

2013-14 state-level results are not available for the Vermont NECAP; please see here for more information.

The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female64%
Male65%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%

Reading

All Students66%
Female75%
Male57%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. As a result, GreatSchools' ratings for Vermont currently reflect 2012-13 test results, the most recent year with data for all subjects.

2013-14 state-level results are not available for the Vermont NECAP; please see here for more information.

The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 92%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 1%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A36%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 Summit St
Essex Junction, VT 05452
Phone: (802) 878-1377

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Thomas Fleming School
Essex Junction, VT




Hiawatha School
Essex Junction, VT



Founders Memorial School
Essex Junction, VT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT