Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Summit Street School 1

Posted November 22, 2012
- a parent
It's so true Summit is very political. You'll be fine if you don't question authority. Counselor is a joke as well. If you're an underdog you'll be fine. Anyone else just be ready to go with the flow, and you'd better like it. We moved here from another school district not long ago and wish we had been placed in Hiawatha. Thankfully our child will be moving on soon. The teachers are great. And the education is likely top notch. But in these early years it's more important how everything else is handled. The kids and parent's opinions need to matter... all of them.

Summit Street School 1

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
Summit is a great school IF you have an inside connection, meaning you babysit for one of the teachers kids. If you do this the sky is the limit as far as the wonderful treatment for your children AND their friends. Politics is rampant and if you ask questions challenging the system your children will be left behind in the shuffle. Public schools are funded by taxpayers, however the school administrators fail to see this and are concerned with their own agenda. Try Williston if you are looking for a warm, caring, strong academic environment, why pay high taxes for a sub-par education?


Summit Street School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
Summit is an excellent school! I can't say enough great things about our experiences with Summit. Our son is in the K/1 multi-age classroom and is doing very well. He's at an advanced reading and math level, is being challenged, but not overwhelmed. Our son is in his 2nd year at Summit and gets excited about going every day. All the students seem to be very engaged and respectful. All the teachers and principal seem to know all the kids, even kids not in their class. There are a lot of great and unique programs that Summit offers that I don't think most schools in the area do. The small school size is also a big bonus. We are thinking of possibly relocating to another state and leaving Summit is a big con on our list of reasons not to leave! We would really miss this

Summit Street School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
We love this school. We moved out of Burlington just so that our children could attend Summit. The principle is amazing and they are adding a new natural playground to the grounds. We really like the small school size and the mixed age K-1st grade program.

Summit Street School 5

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
We are so pleased with this school. The teachers are very caring and both our girls are getting better grades since we moved into this school district.


Summit Street School 0
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
My child went to EES last year and I am so glad we moved so she could go to Summit. It has a warm inviting atmosphere and her teachers are great.

Summit Street School 2

Posted February 19, 2008
- a parent
Summit Street is a joke of a school. It is listed as one of the top schools but my son did so poorly in this school that I had to transfer him out. Their IEP coordinator in the school is unwilling and unable to cooperate on an individual and professional level. Hiawatha School, in the same town (less than 1 mile apart) has done wonders for my son though. He went from a level 2-13 in 8 months for reading, while at Summit in two years he went from a level 1-2.

Summit Street School 5

Posted September 08, 2007
- a parent
This is a fantastic school! The faculty and staff go above and beyond with each student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summit Street School
17 Summit St, Essex Junction, VT  05452
(802) 878-1377
Last modified Summit Street School is a Public school that serves grades PK-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Summit Street School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top