Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Essex Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Many issues due to Special Education. Be prepared to fight tooth and nail for your child.

Essex Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Only because it's so bad there that kids have to be determined. It's pretty sad that's the way it is.


Essex Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
No, when searching only children with special needs you are not showing them respect. They have a lot to learn.

Essex Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
No, this school does not encourage empathy because the administration has none. Strongly disagree with this.

Essex Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Students are treated differently if they have special needs. The administration could care less about their emotional wellbeing.


Essex Middle School 2

Posted March 07, 2012
- a community member
I enjoyed my stay at EMS. I have no graudated and moved on to EHS as an upper classman, I think the teachers are great. Mrs.Willis is by far the best teacher ever. Id give her 5 stars. But administration is the worst I have ever delt with. One minor mistake and you are on the "bad kid" list and out casted. Mr.Briggs and Mr. Kirsh wouldnt shake my hand at graduation. Mr.Briggs also got to close to many of the girls in my grade, as in hugging and what not. just un-professional.

Essex Middle School 5

Posted February 06, 2011
- a community member
I have been to three schools in my life and EMS is by FAR the best one I have been to. The new principal is amazing, and all but one algebra seminar teacher cares lovingly about the students. The students are so nice too, they accept anyone. The teachers are a little strict over little things, but they care three times as much about us as the other schools I've been too. Over all, this could very well be one of the best schools in the country.

Essex Middle School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
GReat caring teachers, top quality education curriculum, and demanding and challenging. High focus on extracaricular activities.


Essex Middle School 3

Posted June 26, 2009
- a student
I have had good teachers here, but I've also had bad ones. I think that my favorite teacher I've ever had here was Greg Mernick, a smart and nice guy. I think that going to his classroom made my hard middle school journey alot better because there were days where I just couldnt stand it! I also really enjoyed music class here. Those two were my main favorite uplifting things about this school. I think Mr. Laush was excellent too. I think over all the school was so-so though. Any time you get introuble its over something kind of not neccasary. I think that the school deserves a 3 star rating.

Essex Middle School 5

Posted March 23, 2009
- a student
I like it because it's really fun, and there are a lot of fun after school activities. I am in the junior iron chef competition and the family consumer science teacher helped us come up with a really good recipe!

Nearby schools

Essex Middle School
60 Founders Rd, Essex Junction, VT  05452
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (802) 879-7173
Last modified Essex Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top