Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bfa Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
We are alumni and Fairfax residents who took advantage of the limited pre-k activities with our child. What we found was a public school that alienates students with peanut allergies; there is no policy regarding allergens such as peanuts. Those with allergies have one table in the corner of the lunch room where they can sit away from the group like lepers. Our most dedicated and experienced faculty, (not just teachers) have been under constant pressure to cut budgets; The music program is a ghost of what it was, and it would be unthinkably ignorant to blame this on fewer interested students. The bus program is under constant fire to defend its affordability and worth, despite the fact that our fleet mechanic has been the most unselfish underpaid public servant in Fairfax for more than thirty years. If you love your kids, homeschool.

Bfa Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
While It is true some things that have changed in this school since we have had children here the school has been good for both my children. Yes, music has been less of a focus, but it isn't all in the school. Kids are less interested now and more are involved in sports. Fairfax has a great community of coaches,parents and volunteers all helping see kids succeed. The school is in a rural area and of course it does not have the same programs as schools do in more populated areas. We have children in both elementary and HS. Satisfied with both.


Bfa Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Having had children in this school system for twenty years, I would say that the school program has gone downhill over the years. The instruction is mediocre, unimaginative, and bland. A once impressive music program has been gutted several times and is now virtually nonexistant. Good teachers have left out of frustration or have been forced out by the administration. Definately think twice about sending your children to this school.

Bfa Elementary/Middle School 2

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
Not impressed. Not at all. We wont be allowing our children to attend BFA much longer. Wished we had researched the school more when moving here......test scores are poor, resources limited, teachers unsupported and classes are overcrowded. Think twice.

Bfa Elementary/Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
5 stars, Excellent school and community


Bfa Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted January 03, 2009
- a student
my school is cool it is everything you could have ever dreamed of it has great activities and a great gymnasium with a rock climbing wall it is also full of character with some of the origanal walls that belonged to the first building that burned down hundrends of years ogo

Bfa Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted August 25, 2006
- a former student
There are multiple computer labs, and one of the best music programs in the state, sending many more students to New England Music Festival than most of the schools in Vermont, or even across the Northeast. There are numerous after school programs, ranging from gaming clubs and jazz band to competitive sports and World of Difference. This school has a lot to offer, including the technical center.

Bfa Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a teacher
Here's another side of the story. While we do agree with some of the previous negative comments about the elementary school (music, computer lab, foreign language)there are far more positives than negatives. Did the writer know she was moving to Franklin County in northern Vermont where resources and funds for education can be limited? Despite that,BFA has enrichment programs, state champs in various varsity sports, incredible parent involvement, awesome teacher quality, school-wide safety program, book discussions, concerts (community and school), art shows, drama, sports, all school morning meetings, family dances, story time, play groups, etc., I could go on and on. My 3 kids are all straight A students (elementary grades are standards based and given letters) and are absolutely instilled with a sense of achievement. There are many programs if you look for them and if something doesn't work, try to fix it. Our recommendation: send your kids to BFA!


Bfa Elementary/Middle School 3

Posted August 11, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bfa Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted June 16, 2005
- a parent
We have moved around quite a bit and BFA is by far the worst place we ever encountered. We took our children out of this school after one year to help restore the positive self-esteem, strong desire to learn, and positive behavior which our children had always displayed. The school is lacking in resources, no computer labs, no after school programs, no in-school programs, no spelling bees, embarassing music program, no foreign language at the elementary level, no positive reinforcement, and no desire to achieve instilled in any child. No GIFTED services, no letter grades. I found it more to be a daycare center with the focus centered on behavior NOT LEARNING. My recommendation: keep your children far from BFA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bfa Elementary/Middle School
75 Hunt St, Fairfax, VT  05454
(802) 849-6711
Last modified Bfa Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bfa Elementary/Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top