Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Jericho, VT
Students enrolled: 947

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
MMU prepares students for college. The curriculum is rigorous and students are pushed to their full potential. In addition to strong academics, going to the school teaches discipline and time management. This is not a school for anyone trying to get an "easy A". Classes are challenging. Students often do quite well on college entrance exams and go on to colleges such as Dartmouth, Cornell, UVM, Ithaca, and Skidmore. Someone mentioned previously the "60 hour work week" of students here. This is absolutely correct, but as I said, this teaches time management and discipline. A lot is expected of students, but they learn a lot.

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 5

Posted January 15, 2013
- a student
We have a slushy machine!! Also really a great school in general--good teachers, nice atmosphere and quality sports teams.


Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a student
Good teachers. Good students. Good academic values. There is nothing bad about this school. It could use a slushy machine but that is all.

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 5

Posted March 03, 2011
- a student
I absolutely loved going to this school. I went to this school for the first 3 years of high school and was then forced to move out of state. I loved the school's events and the variety of personalities of both the students and teachers/staff. The teachers were fun and cared about your education. I was challenged by many of my teachers and cared about my education. I moved into a new school district that doesn't challenge me, and honestly i miss the challenges that MMU pushed me into. It was a great experience. Even though i graduated from a different high school i got MMU as the school on my class ring with a blue stone and a cougar. i'd say that says something. :)

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 1

Posted September 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 3

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
MMU is more concerned about gpa averages then quality education. Parents have to fight the school to have their kids take more challenging courses or not be in 2 study halls a day.

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 0
no rating

Posted February 21, 2009
- a community member
Most of the teachers are good, and most of the students are good-humored, making the environment both fun and conducive to learning. But the school is not without flaws. 1) Once a student is tracked at a particular level, mobility is limited (C students in honors classes typically stay in honors classes while A-students in regular classes are rarely recommended for them, and a pushy parent goes as far as academic performance), or impossible (if you do poorly in math in 8th grade and take 'Integrated Math 1' as a freshman, you take Geometry as a senior but never get to Algebra 2. This means you've never learned much of the math for the SAT, and you aren't eligible to apply to many colleges). 2) Upper middle class kids seem to be favored in class placement, extracurriculars, and disciplinary action. 3) The school day, homework, and commute add up to a 60 hour work week, which is overtime for adults, let alone young adults!

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a teacher
Well, of course its great! The staff is dedicated, the parents in the district care about education, but mostly the kids are respectful (for the most part) and willing (for the most part) to put up with initiatives that come from 'the adults'. I've taught here since 1986, and have always felt free to be able to offer the type of educational experience in my classroom that I thought was best.


Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 5

Posted October 02, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 4

Posted March 15, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mt. Mansfield Usd #17
211 Browns Trace, Jericho, VT  05465
(802) 899-4690
Last modified Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mt. Mansfield Usd #17 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top