Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public
Jericho, VT
Students enrolled: 402

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Browns River Middle Usd #17 4

Posted October 14, 2014
- a community member
This school has really turned around; it has adopted a whole-school PBIS model and is a warm and friendly place.

Browns River Middle Usd #17 4

Posted November 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Browns River Middle Usd #17 1

Posted September 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Browns River Middle Usd #17 1

Posted May 24, 2008
- a parent
Overall atmosphere of hostility between teachers and students. There is a minimal effort to accomodate different learning styles.

Browns River Middle Usd #17 3

Posted August 23, 2005
- a parent
I had 3 children go through this school. I know first hand how difficult it is to transition into the middle school environment. My children had a very positive experience there and I believe the staff worked hard to find opportunities where my chilren found success and halped build self confidence. Remember a middle school is not an elementary school,many children do not want parents involved in their school work. They want to be more independent. It's a very difficult transition for parents who want to be in control. Think about this as you criticize teachers and staff for providing opoortunities for trying out some of their independence and practicing their study skills. I found parents were not able to be involved because both were working outside the home now that their children are older and more independent. There were many opportunities for me to be involved with the school.


Browns River Middle Usd #17 1

Posted June 16, 2005
- a parent
I've had two children go to this school and have been very disappointed. It appears the school is more concerned with the child's social well-being than their education. Some of their teachers do not hold the kids accountable for their work and tend to label kids if they aren't performing. It's been very frustrating to try and teach your kids values and the importance of education just to have it 'undone' by the school. I am now homeschooling my third child.

Browns River Middle Usd #17 2

Posted February 18, 2005
- a parent
I agree that conducting a community satisfaction survey would be a positive first step to identifying areas for improvement. How many families opt out of the bus because of concerns over safety and harassment? How many kids bring their lunch because of concern over the school lunch quality? How many famillies have opted out of BRMS and why? There is lacking an energy, vision and dedication to being the best middle school in the state or country. It is not an open nor welcoming school atmosphere. Our kids and our community deserve better.

Browns River Middle Usd #17 2

Posted February 04, 2005
- a parent
I've had two children at this school after a few years between them. This school is by far the weakest link in the trio of otherwise very fine schools between elementary and HS. In my experience, there are precious few really worthwhile teachers here. Your child's test scores will drop from elementary school and they will explain it away, never considering it's due to the school. Your child will feel like a number and will learn to dislike subjects they previously enjoyed. I'd like them to offer a parent satisfaction survey and then actively work on improving this school. That's unlikely while the current principal is in office.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Browns River Middle Usd #17
20 River Rd, Jericho, VT  05465
(802) 899-3711
Last modified Browns River Middle Usd #17 is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Browns River Middle Usd #17 Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top