Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

8-12|Private
13 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Gailer School 5

Posted July 30, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school, has absolutely changed my son's educational life for the better. His talent and potential are being brought out truly for the first time now that he's a student here!

The Gailer School 5

Posted June 15, 2011
- a parent
As the parent of a Gailer student who has been transformed from disinterested and disengaged to a vibrant participant in an academically challenging and inclusive community, I am very happy with our Gailer experience. The creative and nurturing teachers and committed staff strive to move this small school forward while maintaining the culture of the DaVinci approach to learning with an emphasis on encouraging insightful world citizenry. Bravo!


The Gailer School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
Our seventh-grader has just finished a great year at Gailer. He was consistently challenged academically, entertained and included in a welcoming learning community. We are very pleased with the experience and he is too!

The Gailer School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent at Gailer and a volunteer there. My son is 14 years old and will be in 9th grade next year. He was a very shy boy and has come out of his shell since being in the supportive and safe environment of Gailer. He is excelling in almost all subject and is encouraged and helped all along the way. You can't get this kind of education from a public school. Did I mention that he loves it there? To see how this school has impacted his life is to experience his impromptu 10 minute discussion about his inquiry project; an articulate, outgoing, confident lecture on his project, an electro static generator...I was so proud of him, I was bursting. Gailer gave that to me, the gift of knowing my son is thriving in school, and also enjoying it.

The Gailer School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
My son just completed 7th grade at the Gailer School, and had a truly exceptional experience. He was challenged to work hard, think independently and work to his greatest potential. The teachers are committed, creative professionals who care deeply about each of the students. And the community of parents and students is welcoming, engaged and supportive. Gailer is an extraordinarily wonderful place.


The Gailer School 1

Posted August 02, 2010
- a parent
Save your money. This school is poorly run with a history of financial and teacher problems. This year alone three teachers elected not to return (there are only six full time teachers total) and several board members pulled their kids. The head of the school is an in experience wacko who still thinks he is sixteen. In addition, the school has lost off of its donors and financial supporters. These other reviews are planted by school officials

The Gailer School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
My daughter had a miserable experience in the public high school. The Gailer School changed her life. She looked forward to going to school every day and she found a new confidence in herself and educational ability. There are many many students that would benefit from The Gailer School.

The Gailer School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
Gailor is an exciting place to learn. It is a school where the students are treated as individuals, where the teaching is challenging, exciting and supportive. I'm delighted that my child has had the opportunity to attend such a unique center which celebrates the development of the student's world view and their roles in it, as well as the more traditional academic skills.


The Gailer School
no rating

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful place -- small classes, excellent teachers, and a dedication to teaching children their place in the world. The curriculum is challenging, and the opportunities for learning more than the 'three Rs' are really impressive for such a small place.

The Gailer School 4

Posted April 30, 2006
- a student
I graduated from the Gailer School, class of 2000. I am now an alumnus of the University of Nebraska. I was quite pleased with Gailer's unusual approach to education. For self-motivated students with the intelligence and initiative to learn independently, Gailer can be an excellent experience. Students are given the time and encouragement needed to learn advanced material in their subjects of interest. The Da Vinci curriculum is a brilliant and effective method of teaching students how to integrate and relate knowledge in different fields to develop as complete an understanding of the world as possible. Unfortunately, Gailer can let unmotivated students slip through the cracks. Not all graduates are well educated and well prepared for the world -- it is up to the students to ensure that they achieve this. Activities and socialization are limited by the size of the school, as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Gailer School
Po Box 1306, Middlebury, VT  05753
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (802) 385-3007
Last modified The Gailer School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
Top