Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary's School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Middlebury

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $192,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $947.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

Best school in the region, including the local college. Faith, family and formation added to the three R's make a student whole in body, mind and spirit. St. Mary's reminds me of what school was for me as a child. Holidays celebrated, big buddies/little buddies working together in class and on the school yard. The teachers and administrators work with willing parents to to find and cultivate each student's genuine academic curiosity. It's a picture post card of where a caring, devoted parent should send their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

This school has not taught my child anything he is now the lowest in his class and is struggling with grades the only good thing about this school is the phys Ed program it is one of the best in the country it is taught by Steven ketchum I personally feel that that is the only good part of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

The worst school ever, they make up LIES ABOUT CHILDRENS GRADES AND they make up fake disorders so the not so smart kids do not have to take standardizing tests so the school has better reports.


Posted February 27, 2013

I have to post that I agree with all the high ratings people have given this school and I have to point out that it's all because the new principal is the one who has brought excellence back to St. Mary's. I have known her to be responsive, open and caring and I object to sites like these being used by disgruntled, uninvolved parents to lash out. At a recent school meeting it was shared that 100% of current families are returning. That's because of leadership. I can't remember the last time we had that many families coming back and that speaks volumes. We love St. Mary's and our children are thriving here. We would (and do) recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

Teachers are wonderful principal is very unprofessional and doen't always have the best interest of children and families in mind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

St Mary's is an amazing school. My children are receiving a stellar education and one which is truly customized to their abilities. Many schools try to individualize their programs but sadly fall short - either due to bureaucracy or teacher apathy. St Mary's excells at teaching not only the mind, but also the spirit. If you are considering a Catholic education, take a look at SMS. We are proof that excellence and creativity are not mutally exclusive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

This school is wonderful! Very close community - every teacher, every parent, and every child knows one another. This comradery makes a fantastic and successful learning experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

This is the 2nd largest elementary school in Addison County, and I cannot say enough great things about it.My kids have been attending for a number of years - the teachers truly care about their students, and take an active role in their lives. The small classrooms allow for successful differentiated instruction, which my children have benefited from personally. The principal and Father Beaudin play a very active role in the school community, allowing the students to feel truly at home in the school. It is a truly wonderful, close knit environment that both me and my children and benefit from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

Shrinking school. Uneven quality of the staff is the main problem. The K and 2nd grade teachers are subperb. Other teachers are poor to mediocre at best. Too few students - now down to 60 and shrinking fast. Too much emphasis on selling lottery tickets to keep doors open. High teacher turnover - this has choas written all over it. Avoid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

We have been a part of this school community since 2003 and I have never been as excited as I am this year. The phys ed teacher has not left, the new principal is full of enthusiasm and ideas that have woken up the whole environment. The third grade teacher was an outstanding teacher but she commuted over an hour and took a job much closer to her home. I can't blame her for that. My oldest son just started the local public school because St. Mary's is only K-6. He is very bored because his class at St. Mary's was so far ahead. Their standard test scores are probably double what the public school got too. School population has declined but that is happening state wide, the declining economy has also impacted enrollments. But the school itself is going strong, there were two major gifts to the endowment this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Black 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Burlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

86 Shannon Street
Middlebury, VT 05753
Website: Click here
Phone: (802) 388-8392

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aurora School
Middlebury, VT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT