Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
77 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary's School 5

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
What I appreciate most about St. Mary’s is that it focuses on both the intellect and character of every student. Academic standards are high, and the emphasis on kindness toward others is pervasive.

St Mary's School 5

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
St. Mary's School is like a large family. Students are kind to one another and are taught to respect all. Academics are tailored to each student and the ratio is wonderful, around 5-10 students per teacher (with mixed grades) with additional teacher help in math. Students have a variety of after school activities. While athletics are lacking, there are plenty of town rec athletics to fill the void. Students are taught the basics of Christian religion and although a Roman Catholic school, St. Marys welcomes ALL families who share its values. If you are looking for a school to protect your child from harsh realities of large public schools, this school will do just that as well growth, interest, and appreciation for life.


St Mary's School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Best school in the region, including the local college. Faith, family and formation added to the three R's make a student whole in body, mind and spirit. St. Mary's reminds me of what school was for me as a child. Holidays celebrated, big buddies/little buddies working together in class and on the school yard. The teachers and administrators work with willing parents to to find and cultivate each student's genuine academic curiosity. It's a picture post card of where a caring, devoted parent should send their child.

St Mary's School 1

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
This school has not taught my child anything he is now the lowest in his class and is struggling with grades the only good thing about this school is the phys Ed program it is one of the best in the country it is taught by Steven ketchum I personally feel that that is the only good part of the school

St Mary's School 1

Posted July 23, 2013
- a community member
The worst school ever, they make up LIES ABOUT CHILDRENS GRADES AND they make up fake disorders so the not so smart kids do not have to take standardizing tests so the school has better reports.


St Mary's School 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
I have to post that I agree with all the high ratings people have given this school and I have to point out that it's all because the new principal is the one who has brought excellence back to St. Mary's. I have known her to be responsive, open and caring and I object to sites like these being used by disgruntled, uninvolved parents to lash out. At a recent school meeting it was shared that 100% of current families are returning. That's because of leadership. I can't remember the last time we had that many families coming back and that speaks volumes. We love St. Mary's and our children are thriving here. We would (and do) recommend it to anyone!

St Mary's School 2

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful principal is very unprofessional and doen't always have the best interest of children and families in mind!

St Mary's School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
St Mary's is an amazing school. My children are receiving a stellar education and one which is truly customized to their abilities. Many schools try to individualize their programs but sadly fall short - either due to bureaucracy or teacher apathy. St Mary's excells at teaching not only the mind, but also the spirit. If you are considering a Catholic education, take a look at SMS. We are proof that excellence and creativity are not mutally exclusive!


St Mary's School 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful! Very close community - every teacher, every parent, and every child knows one another. This comradery makes a fantastic and successful learning experience for my children.

St Mary's School 5

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
This is the 2nd largest elementary school in Addison County, and I cannot say enough great things about it.My kids have been attending for a number of years - the teachers truly care about their students, and take an active role in their lives. The small classrooms allow for successful differentiated instruction, which my children have benefited from personally. The principal and Father Beaudin play a very active role in the school community, allowing the students to feel truly at home in the school. It is a truly wonderful, close knit environment that both me and my children and benefit from.

Nearby schools

St Mary's School
86 Shannon Street, Middlebury, VT  05753
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (802) 388-8392
Last modified St Mary's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top