Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a teacher
I am proud to work at Northfield Middle & High School. The faculty, students and staff are supportive and encouraging. We have high expectations for our students and we care. Our school offers a variety of pathways to graduation which allows for all learners to succeed. This is an ideal place to work.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a teacher
Update on our school since last year...we have moved up to number 4 from number 8 in a state of 290 schools! We are also the home of the VT teacher of the year, VT high school principal of the year, and VT middle level principal of the year.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a teacher
NMHS is definitely the best school I have ever been a part of. The teachers are amazing and the academics are rigorous.

Northfield Middle/High School 4

Posted August 17, 2014
- a teacher
Northfield High School consists of many hard working individuals who collectively are making a difference in many students lives. Innovative teaching lessons, service learning projects, PLP's, and internships in surrounding communities as well as in town are all adding up to educated, well prepared citizens entering the next phase of their lives.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a teacher
Just need to say that according to the 2013 US News Report, Northfield Middle High School is ranked #8 in Vermont! It makes me very proud to work here. I really feel like we are all moving in a very positive direction and this is a great school. We have higher scores than all but one of the "high school choice" schools available in our area and our sports teams have won countless state championships and our musical is outstanding every year!


Northfield Middle/High School 2

Posted May 09, 2012
- a community member
When I attended this school it was an average school with above average athletics, average to above average teachers, and a majority of student who wanted to excel. Over the past few years however, I have had the unfortunate ability to see this school deteriorate in many ways from the actual structure of the school to what goes on inside. The majority of teachers have stopped caring, in rebellion mostly to a principal who has no idea how to run a high school and the students have lost their drive for education. With the unreasonably high taxes that Northfield residents pay, you would expect the school to be at a much higher caliber, unfortunately, this is not the case. Sadly, many students with potential and drive leave Northfield for prep and private schools, but the truth is that most families in the town cannot afford this and those kids that have the drive but no funds are forced to suffer in classes where most students don t want to be taught and the teachers don t want to teach. Northfield would be better off as a union school and surely if things continue down the path they are on, it will soon become one.

Northfield Middle/High School 2

Posted August 13, 2010
- a community member
Academically, the school offers enough AP courses to hold over smarter students. On average, one student every two years will attend an Ivy or Top 20 college or university. There are a few excellent teachers, yet many people in the faculty and staff have lived in Northfield for their entire lives. Northfield is one of the more backwards towns in Vermont, and the influx of recent and distant Northfield grads in the school lets this live on in the school. Many things are swept under the rug when certain students or faculty are involved. Most students that are rewarded and receive this type of immunity attend mediocre colleges, so I guess the joke is on them. All in all, if you are intelligent, this place can get you where you want to go, but don't expect that you will not face adversity from the jealous inbreds who have lived here their whole lives.

Northfield Middle/High School 3

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Northfield Middle/High School 4

Posted April 03, 2009
- a student
I went to Northfield Highschool for my entire High School carreer and I wouldnt change it for the world! They really helped me become a great person and get into a good college.

Northfield Middle/High School 3

Posted January 27, 2008
- a student
This school gets three stars because there were a few teachers (like Mr. Jarvis, Mr. Miles and Mr. Willis) who were really awesome and made learning fun, unfortunately some of the listed teachers don't work there anymore. Other than that, there isn't really all that much that stands out about it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northfield Middle/High School
37 Cross St Unit 2 and 3, Northfield, VT  05663
(802) 485-4500
Last modified Northfield Middle/High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northfield Middle/High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top