Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
We are a military family with kids in both middle and high school. Northfield is the BEST school experience we have had in 23 years of moves. The teachers are excellent...providing a positive and hands on learning experience. The class size is small, which allows for the teachers to know the kids strengths and weaknesses. Teachers are allowed to be creative and think outside of the "box". There is a good mix of AP classes. The electives are great too...our son has really enjoyed learning to cook in consumer science and he looks forward to woodworking next year. Our daughter enjoys Spanish, and is excited to take complete all 4 years.The chem teacher has terrific techniques to inspire. The government teacher is providing the kids good critical thinking skills. The language teachers have inspired our kids to read and creatively write. The math team is great too. Mr. Howard the art teacher is terrific too. The kids are looking forward to being a part of the drama dept and continuing in the great music program. The towns kids have embraced our kids, and encouraged them to join clubs and sports. The guidance counselors really care about the kids feeling welcome too. :) The leadership is terrific. The nurse is wonderful. The cafeteria has good food and a nice staff. The school is very clean and presents a happy environment. We are thrilled to be part of Northfield! Alicia(mom)

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Middle-school teachers are genuinely interested in helping students learn to love exploration. Teachers and administrators have both shown me a commitment to developing good communication with parents.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
Northfield Middle and High School is big enough have many wonderful offerings and small enough so that each student and parent is important to the school's success. Success is celebrated, and if problems do arise, they are handled with dignity and fairness. Students may select core courses at all appropriate levels, including Honors and Advance Placement, and they are even accommodated if they choose to take classes at the college in town, Norwich University. The arts, including music, art, photography, woodworking, as well as consumer science and physical education are valued as parts of a well-rounded education. The excellent library and one-to-one laptop program support learning in all classes. The highly skilled teachers care about each student. They make the school a place of learning that welcomes everyone's uniqueness. Music, plays, sports, yearbook, service clubs and more give students a wide range of ways to get involved in the school outside of the classroom. Parents who choose to send their children to Northfield Middle and High School will be pleased that they did.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
Ranked #4 in the state by US News & World Report and with statewide awards this year (2014/2015), Northfield is definitely on the upswing. Here are a few features I particularly enjoy: 1. Emphasis on technology: Every student grades 9-12 receives their own laptop. It's theirs to bring home and to keep upon graduation. Really? What other schools are doing that?!! Amazing. 2. Culture change: Northfield used to be a jock-centric school with the usual attitudes associated with sports culture. Fortunately, over the last decade a new administration, staffed with completely new faces, has delivered a new kind of culture which supports students across all areas of interest. 3. College prep: Parents and students who want to get the most out of Northfield capitalize on the informal partnerships between the school and Norwich University. Students can take university level courses for credit. If you want your child to get a background in STEM, this is the place to be. Northfield offers AP level courses. The suite of services provided by faculty and staff is pretty incredible especially for a small school. Five stars.

Northfield Middle/High School 3

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
This school USED TO BE a very strong school that had numerous strengths. Academics, athletics, extra-curricular, and community involvement were very strong in the past. In recent years the school has been in a steep decline. There have been less and less opportunity for students; not just because of finances, but also because of shrinking enrollment. This is due to a natural trend, as well as students participating in school choice to attend neighboring schools. Attend most sporting events and you will see there isn't enough student participation to field both a JV and Varsity team in most sports. Thankfully, some programs have survived due to participation from students in neighboring districts. Similar participation issues for the arts to the extent there really hasn't been a school band in recent years. Grade sizes that commonly had 80 students, today only may have numbers in the 20's. That's a drastic decline. Bottom line - this school needs to merge to provide the students opportunity.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a teacher
I am proud to work at Northfield Middle & High School. The faculty, students and staff are supportive and encouraging. We have high expectations for our students and we care. Our school offers a variety of pathways to graduation which allows for all learners to succeed. This is an ideal place to work.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a teacher
Update on our school since last year...we have moved up to number 4 from number 8 in a state of 290 schools! We are also the home of the VT teacher of the year, VT high school principal of the year, and VT middle level principal of the year.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a teacher
NMHS is definitely the best school I have ever been a part of. The teachers are amazing and the academics are rigorous.


Northfield Middle/High School 4

Posted August 17, 2014
- a teacher
Northfield High School consists of many hard working individuals who collectively are making a difference in many students lives. Innovative teaching lessons, service learning projects, PLP's, and internships in surrounding communities as well as in town are all adding up to educated, well prepared citizens entering the next phase of their lives.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a teacher
Just need to say that according to the 2013 US News Report, Northfield Middle High School is ranked #8 in Vermont! It makes me very proud to work here. I really feel like we are all moving in a very positive direction and this is a great school. We have higher scores than all but one of the "high school choice" schools available in our area and our sports teams have won countless state championships and our musical is outstanding every year!

Nearby schools

Northfield Middle/High School
37 Cross St Unit 2 and 3, Northfield, VT  05663
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (802) 485-4500
Last modified Northfield Middle/High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top