Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public district
Northfield, VT
Students enrolled: 346
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Middle-school teachers are genuinely interested in helping students learn to love exploration. Teachers and administrators have both shown me a commitment to developing good communication with parents.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
Northfield Middle and High School is big enough have many wonderful offerings and small enough so that each student and parent is important to the school's success. Success is celebrated, and if problems do arise, they are handled with dignity and fairness. Students may select core courses at all appropriate levels, including Honors and Advance Placement, and they are even accommodated if they choose to take classes at the college in town, Norwich University. The arts, including music, art, photography, woodworking, as well as consumer science and physical education are valued as parts of a well-rounded education. The excellent library and one-to-one laptop program support learning in all classes. The highly skilled teachers care about each student. They make the school a place of learning that welcomes everyone's uniqueness. Music, plays, sports, yearbook, service clubs and more give students a wide range of ways to get involved in the school outside of the classroom. Parents who choose to send their children to Northfield Middle and High School will be pleased that they did.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
Ranked #4 in the state by US News & World Report and with statewide awards this year (2014/2015), Northfield is definitely on the upswing. Here are a few features I particularly enjoy: 1. Emphasis on technology: Every student grades 9-12 receives their own laptop. It's theirs to bring home and to keep upon graduation. Really? What other schools are doing that?!! Amazing. 2. Culture change: Northfield used to be a jock-centric school with the usual attitudes associated with sports culture. Fortunately, over the last decade a new administration, staffed with completely new faces, has delivered a new kind of culture which supports students across all areas of interest. 3. College prep: Parents and students who want to get the most out of Northfield capitalize on the informal partnerships between the school and Norwich University. Students can take university level courses for credit. If you want your child to get a background in STEM, this is the place to be. Northfield offers AP level courses. The suite of services provided by faculty and staff is pretty incredible especially for a small school. Five stars.

Northfield Middle/High School 3

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
This school USED TO BE a very strong school that had numerous strengths. Academics, athletics, extra-curricular, and community involvement were very strong in the past. In recent years the school has been in a steep decline. There have been less and less opportunity for students; not just because of finances, but also because of shrinking enrollment. This is due to a natural trend, as well as students participating in school choice to attend neighboring schools. Attend most sporting events and you will see there isn't enough student participation to field both a JV and Varsity team in most sports. Thankfully, some programs have survived due to participation from students in neighboring districts. Similar participation issues for the arts to the extent there really hasn't been a school band in recent years. Grade sizes that commonly had 80 students, today only may have numbers in the 20's. That's a drastic decline. Bottom line - this school needs to merge to provide the students opportunity.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a teacher
I am proud to work at Northfield Middle & High School. The faculty, students and staff are supportive and encouraging. We have high expectations for our students and we care. Our school offers a variety of pathways to graduation which allows for all learners to succeed. This is an ideal place to work.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a teacher
Update on our school since last year...we have moved up to number 4 from number 8 in a state of 290 schools! We are also the home of the VT teacher of the year, VT high school principal of the year, and VT middle level principal of the year.

Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a teacher
NMHS is definitely the best school I have ever been a part of. The teachers are amazing and the academics are rigorous.

Northfield Middle/High School 4

Posted August 17, 2014
- a teacher
Northfield High School consists of many hard working individuals who collectively are making a difference in many students lives. Innovative teaching lessons, service learning projects, PLP's, and internships in surrounding communities as well as in town are all adding up to educated, well prepared citizens entering the next phase of their lives.


Northfield Middle/High School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a teacher
Just need to say that according to the 2013 US News Report, Northfield Middle High School is ranked #8 in Vermont! It makes me very proud to work here. I really feel like we are all moving in a very positive direction and this is a great school. We have higher scores than all but one of the "high school choice" schools available in our area and our sports teams have won countless state championships and our musical is outstanding every year!

Northfield Middle/High School 2

Posted May 09, 2012
- a community member
When I attended this school it was an average school with above average athletics, average to above average teachers, and a majority of student who wanted to excel. Over the past few years however, I have had the unfortunate ability to see this school deteriorate in many ways from the actual structure of the school to what goes on inside. The majority of teachers have stopped caring, in rebellion mostly to a principal who has no idea how to run a high school and the students have lost their drive for education. With the unreasonably high taxes that Northfield residents pay, you would expect the school to be at a much higher caliber, unfortunately, this is not the case. Sadly, many students with potential and drive leave Northfield for prep and private schools, but the truth is that most families in the town cannot afford this and those kids that have the drive but no funds are forced to suffer in classes where most students don t want to be taught and the teachers don t want to teach. Northfield would be better off as a union school and surely if things continue down the path they are on, it will soon become one.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northfield Middle/High School
37 Cross St Unit 2 and 3, Northfield, VT  05663
(802) 485-4500
Last modified Northfield Middle/High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northfield Middle/High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top