Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Putney Central School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school, awesome teachers and administrators! They care about each child's development. Lots of activities, small class sizes, excellent facilities.

Putney Central School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
We have an organic garden at our school. Produce from it is used in the school cafeteria. Students go into the garden to learn about horticulture. They also harvest produce which is used in the school cafeteria!


Putney Central School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
Everyone is so friendly there. I always feel welcome when I go there to visit!

Putney Central School 5

Posted July 30, 2008
- a parent
This school is the top of the line for a public school. Excellent teachers and academics!

Putney Central School 5

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
This is a jewel of a school located in an unbelievable setting. The school owns a 120-acre preserve that incorporates wetlands, riparian, meadowlands and forest ecosystems. The teachers and members of school administration are dedicated, intelligent and vibrant, filled with love of learning, teaching and children. The extras are so many, it's hard to list them all: a music program, after-school nature and sports programs, winter sports programs, an outdoor classroom environment where even basics such as math can take place in the forest, a Pacific Rim/Asian studies program, community outreach, excellent food...I'm sure I'm forgetting something! Classes are smaller than those we left behind in the urban setting. There is a host of adult support for each child. Putney Central is an enriched, somewhat sheltered environment that every child should experience at least once in a lifetime.


Putney Central School 5

Posted May 20, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Putney Central School 1

Posted May 01, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Putney Central School 4

Posted August 11, 2005
- a parent
I have three children, 13, 8, and 5. Putney Central School is a wonderful community school. The classes are small, giving lots of individual attention to the students. The current 2nd grade has 15. The school makes use of it's woodland trails, and every year there is a large organic garden the students participate in. I rated the school at 4's simply because there is always room for improvement. It is a small town school, and therefore has limited funding available. The biggest thing I see missing is foreign language. One of the best things it offers is it is a k-8 school. This keeps our children somewhat sheltered until they get to high school. They get the benefit of a small town where everyone knows them, and there is less of a chance of children getting lost. Putney is a wonderful place to live that cares about it's children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Putney Central School
182 Westminster Rd, Putney, VT  05346
(802) 387-5521
Last modified Putney Central School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Putney Central School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top