Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
95 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount St Joseph Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2016
- a community member
Small school, small town. Hands on experience with an exceptional network of Alumni all over the country.

Mount St Joseph Academy 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Mt St Joseph Academy has turned out to be a great experience for both my kids. The teachers care about the students and want them to ahieve. They have always been willing to "go the extra mile". My child was well-prepared for college. The school teaches students vital skills such as discipline, respect and time-management as well as academic instruction. Also MSJ has a great community spirit. The guidance counselor, Mr Stevens, does an exceptional job helping students in the process of choosing a college. Finally, MSJ teaches students to love God and their neighbor and to share their talents and blessings with others.


Mount St Joseph Academy 4

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
MSJ has turned out to be the best thing for my son. He's intelligent but was simply gliding through public school with no real focus or sense of belonging. MSJ gave him direction and structure, as well as an extended family. He is truly getting a fantastic education in the classroom and on the playing fields. I can't commend the coaches and teachers enough for their devotion to the students. I am a single mother and was worried that financially, MSJ would've out of our reach. The school financial team worked with me to find a comfortable price I could afford. Honestly, the fees that pop up during the year can be a financial strain, but it's a pain I'm willing to endure. GO MSJ!!!!!

Mount St Joseph Academy 1

Posted February 28, 2015
- a student
Deciding to attend MSJ was a mistake. I cannot fully express my disappointment in the lackluster academics. The institution gives a false facade of an intellectual powerhouse, which is completely inaccurate. Many public high schools in Rutland County are as stimulating, or even more intellectually challenging. As a fourth generation alumnus, I feel that all of my family's nostalgia has been replaced by the profound conviction that MSJ should close.

Mount St Joseph Academy 5

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended public school until she transferred to MSJ as a junior this year. It has been life changing for her. A number of things never clicked for her in public high school. Since beginning MSJ her experience has been wonderful. She was on a highly successful soccer team, was admitted to the National Honor Society, and has made wonderful friends. MSJ has a very welcoming community of parents, teachers and kids. I feel that what she needed was more structure,less electronic devices, and more support from her teachers. MSJ provides all of these. Athletics are strong, academics are excellent and theater and arts are encouraged. I would highly recommend attending MSJ.


Mount St Joseph Academy 5

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
My son decided to attend msj in his Junior year of school. The main reason was he wanted a school that would give him an above average education. Well MSJ more then exceeded our expectations in that area. Not only was he excepted into all the colleges he applied for, he also received substantial scholarship money to attend. The teachers are very helpful and always available when you have concerns. When there's a crisis of any kind they pray for whatever the situation is which I'm very thankful for. If I had any younger children they certainly would be going there it gives young adults a good foundation. Sincerely , Anita Rice

Mount St Joseph Academy 1

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
This used to be a good school, until we received our newest Principle, She has turned the great school that it used to be with a great school community completely in side out. Her and her administration have censored our school newspaper, forced our elected President to resign or be expelled, as well as saying that all students regardless of religious faith need to FULLY participate in the weekly Catholic mass. If you ask any of the current students not a single one of them is happy with the school.

Mount St Joseph Academy 1

Posted November 06, 2013
- a student
From Fall 2012 on this school has gone down the toilet. The quality of academics, athletics, other extra-curriculars, administrative policies and so forth has drastically decreased. Don't bother to go to this school.


Mount St Joseph Academy 4

Posted April 03, 2013
- a student
This school provides ample opportunities. Whether on the stage, on the court, or in the classroom, there are ample opportunities that allow students to succeed. There are several different clubs and organizations that I belong to. Many of my friends also agree that there are dozens of things one can join to be active outside of the classroom. Sports are also an important part of the MSJ experience. Beginners are welcome to play a sport that they are interested in playing here. All of the coaches and players are very welcoming towards new people. There are several different sports for any type of athlete. This is a great opportunity as well as the education one receives. The academics in this school are above average. Academics here are far better compared to many public schools in Rutland County. Teachers are always dedicated to their students and make themselves available whenever a student needs them. Also, the class sizes are small, which allows for personal attention during class as well. The school's biggest issue is a lack of enrollment which is mainly due to the high cost of attending this school. However, many scholarships are available to those who need them.

Mount St Joseph Academy 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
I am very pleased with the education my daughter received at MSJ and my son is thriving there as a freshman. MSJ educates the whole student - spirit, mind, and body. The small class sizes and trimester format allow the students to have many opportunities. The athletics have been important to both of my children, and they have been able to play varsity sports every season. The teachers and coaches really care about the students. Because it's a Catholic school, the students have Mass, Confession, and Adoration available, as well as many community service opportunities. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Mount St Joseph Academy
127 Convent Avenue, Rutland, VT  05701
(802) 775-0151
Last modified Mount St Joseph Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top