Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
Sharon, VT

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sharon Academy 5

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
Our kids have been at a variety of schools in different countries and this school is simply INCREDIBLE. Somehow manages to motivate students towards academic excellence in everything from the humanities to science and math and also produce very creative and expressive students. It's small enough that they really know each child very well.

Sharon Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
Before my children started attending TSA, I had no idea what it was about except that it had a reputation for academic rigor. But it goes so much farther than that. The entire faculty works as a team to coordinate their dealings with every student. TSA consistently ranks at the top of VSAC surveys of graduating seniors on questions of mutual student/teacher respect, rigor and challenge, opportunities to think independently and creatively, and accommodation of different learning styles. The school is kept small enough that every teacher knows every students by name. Tuition is kept at a level the state will fully reimburse towns for, so it is accessible to everyone regardless of economic situation, and the small size effectively prevents the formation of social strata that distress many students in larger schools. I have never seen such a cohesive and supportive community as we have found at TSA. It is not for everyone, but it is available and accessible to students who are committed to studying hard and participating fully in their school and society.


Sharon Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
I find the most striking thing about The Sharon Academy is that it's a place where students feel safe being themselves. I applaud the school for successfully encouraging independent and creative thought, nurturing the whole student and helping students build a strong foundation for lifelong learning but I love that it is a place that kids have the freedom to discover who they are with the caring support of the entire TSA community. It's an outstanding school and I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Sharon Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sharon Academy 3

Posted May 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Sharon Academy 3

Posted April 22, 2008
- a student
TSA is a good school for certain people, in my experience in the Sharon Acadomy middle school there was little to no adjustment made for people who are better or more knoledgeable in the standard classes with the exception of math. If you see no bullying taking place its because noones going to do anything in front of a parent and teenagers as a rule dont tell their parents such things. Im not saying TSA is a bad school, but it is certainly not for everyone.

Sharon Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
TSA is chock full of dedicated teachers and staff, and students who truly want to be there. While there certainly more expensive schools, and those with better facilities, it is what goes on inside the facilities that matters. What the kids have to say about TSA is consistently glowing, I've never seen greater parent involvement, and their college admission record is stellar. http://www.thesharonacademy.org

Sharon Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2006
- a parent
This is a wonderful, supportive place for inquisitive,bright kids. Everyone supports and celebrates diversity. I have never seen any bullying or divisive/disruptive behavior. Rigorous academic achievement is to be expected and the kids live up to this expectation with gusto. Wish I went to school here!!Parent involvement is not a good idea it is required. Parents have built four of the classrooms and much of the athletic field. BTW don't miss the pot luck suppers. Great food and great people.


Sharon Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2003
- a parent
A great school, teachers are fabulous, Judy Moore head of school has great vision our children are in such good hands.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sharon Academy
Po Box 207, Sharon, VT  05065
(802) 763-2500
Last modified Sharon Academy is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Sharon Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top