Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Renaissance School

Private | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Shelburne

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $380,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

We chose to withdraw our son from a top rated public school to attend The Renaissance School this year as we were dissatisfied with the public school s standardized curriculum and the lack of interest in differentiating its curriculum to serve the needs of students in the classroom. We have found at Renaissance School that academic differentiation is more than just a buzzword. Within weeks of the beginning of school, our son s prior knowledge, interests, and learning style were accurately assessed and his instruction was appropriately individualized. Assessments have been ongoing throughout the school year and successive adjustments to his curriculum have been ongoing as well. The personalized learning environment has served my son very well as he is both engaged and challenged as well as inquisitive and enthusiastic in his learning. The small classroom size and community feel of the Renaissance School have allowed our son to enjoy close connections with his both his teachers and classmates. Our son loves attending Renaissance. The Renaissance school has exceeded our high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Our children have grown up attending both Heartworks and the Renaissance Schools. We are so pleased with the Faculty and Staff, academics, language and arts, differentiated learning, school community and of course the location. This program has helped us to instill a love of learning in our children. They are fully engaged in their education and are excited to go to school each day. Shelburne Farms is an amazing setting for this school. The children spend quite a bit of time exploring the Farm, not only with their classroom Teachers, but with very knowledgeable farm Educators. They have learned so much about the history of this farm as well as hands on learning about so many facets of the earth. This is a well rounded program that does a lot of things well. Our children are happy, engaged and educated. We know that they are well cared for and are getting the education that we want them to have to be successful as they grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Our children have been attending the Renaissance School for the past three years and this has been---hands down----their best year. The new owners of the school have made a seamless transition, and are making some remarkable changes to the school. The increased academic collaboration with Shelburne Farms has added a tremendous value to my children's education and well being. We couldn't be happier with this change. We made the transition from our public school, which is a highly rated school. We were pretty happy with the school, but felt our children were missing something. The Renaissance School offers a topnotch language program, art program, and rigorous academics. Every winter, my son looks forward to cross-country skiing and snowshoeing on the farm. The Renaissance School has exceeded our expectations in every way. We feel very fortunate to have our children attend such a wonderful school and are looking forward to many more years at the Renaissance School, as well its middle school. Plain and simple, our children are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

It is with great joy that I write this review for the Renaissance School. As an administrator often working with the faculty and the many areas of the curriculum the new school year is developing so very well. The various members of the faculty bring such a variety of skills and interest that the students are in for a real treat. The classes are welcoming, the children so well received and with the small class sizes, every child learns in a respectful atmosphere with creative, rigorous academic pacing. With best wishes for another wonderful year of rigorous education delivered with much love, kindness and respect. Do come to visit the school and farm community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 10, 2012

This year has been such a great year for our daughter. Even though she started late, she was so warmly welcomed by her teacher and new friends. Her teacher is simply outstanding, and such a caring person who truly loves what she does...teaching different children at different levels, while making them all feel very special. My daughter learned to read, and quite quickly, and now reads everything in sight. She loves school, and adores all the teachers and staff. This is truly a special place, and we have been quite happy there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

My kids are attending the Renaissance School right now. They love going to school each day and thoroughly respect and adore their teachers every year. Most days my kids come home excited about what they have learned and can't wait to share it with me. We are planning to stay as long as possible. The teachers are highly qualified and rarely is there only 1 teacher in the room. Support staff, owners of the school and the principal are often helping in the classroom. The Renaissance education is one of old fashioned Reading, Writing and Arithmetic, What sets this school apart are the farm chores, peace meetings and kindness in the school. I like how the teachers are preparing the students for a greater responsibility for their own success. Homework is given at the beginning of the week with assignments due daily, however they can work ahead if they have extracurricular activities after school. My daughter now learning how to plan her week for soccer practice and not have to be stressed out on that evening. Recess is held on a big open field where the kids play many games. The Parent group is also an active participant in the school for parents to be more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

We can't say enough about Ren. Our family commuted 50 min. each way, each day, when our oldest began Kindergarten. It quickly became evident that this would be the path we would take for each of our children. We decided to leave our community, and our amazing friends just to be closer to this school. The founders of Ren have created a community where the sanctity of each individual is respected, where differences are embraced, and where no member of the community may demean, belittle or harm another. The school and its staff work to cultivate purposeful citizenship on local, national and global levels. They generate critical, creative and socially conscious thinkers. My husband and I have always said that if our children grow up to be kind, compassionate and self-confident adults, we will have done our job. Ren has helped us tremendously toward this mission. A friend of ours is the Dir. of Adm. at a Private School here in VT - one that many children from Ren go on to attend. She said, "You can walk into any classroom at our school and immediately pick out the children who went to Ren. They are the leaders and the most confident children in the classes." This sealed the deal for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

This school has such potential to be an amazing experience for young children, but falls short in many areas. The fact that it is located on a beautiful estate with a working farm makes it quite appealing to the upper class of parents that are looking for the prestigious, private school experience. Most parents are uninvolved however, and would be quite surprised at how different the actual classroom experience is from the school tours. The school tends to be a bit disorganized, unstable, indecisive, and at times inappropriate. The accelerated curriculum and lack of daily rhythm can be a bit heavy for the younger ages. It is nothing like the preschool atmosphere, and was quite the disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Renaissance School does an acceptable job in the primary (K-2) grades, but their performance declines with each subsequent grade (3-6). Pros: small class size (<14), location on a working farm, strong foreign language program, 'flexible' curriculum designed to work with students at their level. Cons: many gaps in curriculum, lack of leadership and accountability, lack of knowledge about education in general, scarce resources despite being private, lack of involvement/engagement of parent community, very poor math outcomes, extremely high teacher turnover. And that 'flexible' curriculum they tout is just an excuse to be lazy and give the kids workbooks so they can work independently. It is really a shame, because the concept has so much potential, but it is not executed well. The public schools in this area are far superior in almost every way, but Ren can be a haven for the socially awkward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My wife and I find this school exceptional. This is our daughters' first and third years at the school. Both girls also attended Heartworks Preschool, which is run by the same people. We came to this school after our older daughter had attended kindergarten in the public school for 2 months. She just didn't seem engaged there. After just 20 min in what would become her new class, she was smiling and interacting with her teacher and the other students. It was wonderful to see. We couldn't be more pleased with the school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This school is wonderful. The supportive, caring atmosphere fosters positive social experiences and solid learning. Along with instruction in art, music, and two languages, the curriculum includes animal and earth science instruction by educators at the school's stunning nonprofit farm location, from the earliest grades. The teachers are creative and caring. The strong focus on math and reading is integrated in all aspects. It has a robust academic program that flexibly and meaningfully supports gifted and other learners. Frustrated by our local public school's lack of training and support for gifted education for our son, we extensively researched many schools and talked to former teachers and consultants, and had very positive findings for this school. Its small classes afford all students individual instruction and attention. Our son is very happy with it and now can learn and grow, intellectually and in spirit. We are extremely happy we found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

Our children have been at the Renaissance School (at the preschool too) since they were 2 years old. We have found the school has a very strong academic program and an excellent record for finding really good teachers. The administrators have also been very attentive to our family's needs. The teachers do a great job of creating a peaceful, respectful environment in which nurturing a love of learning is the primary goal. For sensitive children and/or children with gifted tendencies or special learning needs, this is an excellent school. It has also been our experience, however, that parents have very extreme opinions about the Renaissance School - they either really love it or really hate it without accepting or considering the realities involved in running a small private school. For us, this school is a great fit for our kids and we have had only wonderful experiences
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

On the surface this is a very appealing school: it has a fantastic location (though it is leased so who knows for how long), small classes, a good art teacher, good language teachers, and a good natural science program. But the school is really poorly administered; the co-heads (and founders) are semi-retired (or at least seem to be due to frequent absences) but won't relinquish control of the institution to anyone else. Instead they swoop in to try to solve problems when they come up, which is more and more frequently since there is little leadership. They also have a reputation for making their teacher's feel very unappreciated; this is probably why this year half of the teacher's left, a couple with no other jobs to go to. The school has declining enrollment as the grades go up, because parents become more and more frustrated the longer they are there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 339
Shelburne, VT 05482
Phone: (802) 985-2153

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Schoolhouse Learning Center
South Burlington, VT


Orchard School
South Burlington, VT


The Baird School
Burlington, VT


Champlain School
Burlington, VT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT