Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
GEMS is such a great school to educate my kids! The teachers are great and nice.

Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year at GEMS, and we could not be happier! Our kids have adjusted to the new school. They have made friends, and we love the education and all the "extras" that they are receiving as well!


Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a community member
I am a grandparent. I and my granddaughter from Maine visited with grandchildren who attend this school. My granddaughter's partner for a talent show was unable to be at the show this past February. The granddaughter I brought from Maine wanted to perform and help and be part of the show. The music teacher embraced this idea....she let my granddaughter from Maine participate. It was so refreshing to be in a place that was safe, and wonderful and open to love of children. They ran around on a cold winters February night without their bulky boots or shoes and had socks and pretty dresses and had a fabulous time. I wish I could have met the principal of this school. This school is really connected to their children and families. Thank you for what you do.

Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
We are so so happy that we decided to move to Georgia this past year. We are thrilled with the schoolsthe main reason we moved here was because of the great school reviews and now we know why!) Parent involvement is hard these days due to the economy and the need to work longer hours, but it is clear that in this small community, parents try their very hardest to be as much apart of their children's lives as possiple. Teachers are attentive, supportive and know my child to the core. They understand her learning style and give advise to team and improve her skills. These teacher know and love the children they teach...This is very clear. The principal is amazing :)

Georgia Elementary & Middle School 4

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Like any school, there are positives and negatives. GEMS certainly has more positives, but there are areas they could improve. My gifted child never felt challenged at GEMS. They do offer a full range of enrichment courses, but not enough to really push him to what he was capable of doing. He's finally getting that in high school. GEMS has some great teachers, others have been there so long they seem to have lost enthusiasm. More new teachers are coming in and they are incredible and really know how to relate to the children they teach. Bus service is offered, though some areas require kids to walk down the street to a cluster stop. In bitter cold or very snowy days, I've heard kids complain about having to stand in the cold to wait for a bus, especially if it's late. It's always seemed wrong to me to make some neighborhoods do cluster stops while other bus routes don't require it even though the bus stops every 10 or 20 yards.


Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
We've lived in Georgia for a couple of years now and our whole reason for building here was because of the superb reputation of GEMS. I have not been disappointed. From the teaching staff, to the programs, to the administration to the community- everyone here genuinely cares about this school and together make it a great place to be. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. The teachers and staff are wonderful. They treat each child with respect and care. They have succeeded in really giving my son exactly what he needs to succeed. The community is welcome and encouraged to participate in school activities which make this school a success.

Georgia Elementary & Middle School
no rating

Posted June 13, 2008
- a parent
I am so relieved that we moved here before the kids were born. They had a program on bullying, my kids didn't see the point, there just isn't any. Great soccer, basketball, baseball, and enrichment programs.


Georgia Elementary & Middle School 5

Posted November 22, 2004
- a student
This school is a great place to send your children, there are some wonderful kids here and a lot of them are extremely gifted, one of them is an all around beautiful student that everyone at Georgia loves (including me!) and her name is Abby. Abby is the only really special kid at her school, but there are some other awesome and smart students there as well. Love it! Go Chargers!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Georgia Elementary & Middle School
4416 Ethan Allen Hwy, St. Albans, VT  05478
(802) 524-6358
Last modified Georgia Elementary & Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Georgia Elementary & Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top