Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public
West Rutland, VT
Students enrolled: 350
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Rutland School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a teacher
From administrators, teachers, and paras to custodial staff and parents, this school is focused on providing the best possible education and preparation for life for their students. We are privileged to be a part of West Rutland!

West Rutland School 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
The K-12 model at West Rutland School is unique and fosters a great sense of community and learning. The students get to benefit from expanded resources that other small schools don't have. I would highly recommend WRS to any family moving to the region.


West Rutland School 5

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Rutland School 4

Posted August 25, 2007
- a parent
My child started at WRS as a kindergartener and it was a very positive experience for her and me. They encoraged parent involvement and at times she even came home with homework. Great! The teacher always made time to answer questions if I had any. Mrs. Ojala is a great teacher. You are lucky to have her.

West Rutland School 3

Posted January 25, 2006
- a parent
Elementary school (grades K to 4) has a high level of teacher involvement and caring how each student achieves his or her highest potentials. Administration though unfortunately doesn't have the same level of caring for each student. It fluffs off parents concerns quite frequently. My childrens teachers until completion of third grade had many years of experience at WRS. My experience has not been as good with my child in 5th grade however. For the elementary student there are very few extracurricular activities. If it was not for a few active parents who through the town rec. department put together softball, baseball and t-ball, boy and girl scouts, and instrument lessons through school there would be no extracurricular activities.


West Rutland School 5

Posted June 10, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

West Rutland School 5

Posted April 30, 2005
- a administrator
In today's world this school is a gem. It is safe, clean and accessable. My children have recieved an excellent education. The school is flexible in meeting the needs of all students. Individual learning plans enhance the curriculum. Being a K-12 school in 1 building there is built in respect for young and old. It is great to see junior and high school students mentoring the younger elementary students. School spirit is great, the community takes pride in the school, both in athletics and music/art. Teacher professionalism is strong across the school. Online computer courses add some 100+ courses to the high school curriculum. Chorus, band, marching band, jazz band and a 'rock' band add a varity of music. Students have access to a varity of art courses including carving stone at the world reknown Sculpture and Carving Studio. Parental involvement is expected and welcomed by administators and teachers. Thank You.

West Rutland School 2

Posted March 29, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


West Rutland School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
West Rutland's unique school housing K-12 all in one building is great! Many would think the children would not be able to deal well with each other, but they really do. The older children help out in many of the younger grades and make all the children feel well taken care of. The school is very involved in sports and has a lot of school spirit. The parents and grandparents pack the gym for the sporting events, concerts and open house activies such as The night of Shining Stars in April where the children from all grades show projects they've worked on throughout the year. My children are very happy there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Rutland School
713 Main St, West Rutland, VT  05777
(802) 438-2288
Last modified West Rutland School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Rutland School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top