Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hartford High School

Public | 9-12 | 600 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

This is my first year at the Hartford High School, and I love it here. You'll hear some of the students talk about how bad of a school it is, and they aren't getting what they want out of it. But this is because they aren't taking up any of the many opportunity this school provides for you. There are many things that this school offers that others around the area don't. I think if you are able to find what you're looking for, and keep going with it, you'll get a lot out of this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2012

I am going into my sophmore year at Hartford High School and I love it here! There are many different courses and electives to choose from and I love having block scedule (4 classes, semester change, another 4 classes) There are many opportunities for students, whether they are into sports (our teams are really good),drama, science, etc. I want to go into healthcare and the courses offered as well as the tech center will help me out emmensley. My friends say the same, though they are taking different career paths. Students have opportunities to take HACTC courses while taking high school classes, take AP classes, or take regular classes at their own level. I do not enjoy being in the town of Hartford, and my father considered moving, but I told him how much I love hartford and how badly I want to graduate from here, so were staying. I have 3 years to go, but I am sure they will be fantastic, because I am attending a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

Excellent staff--challenging courses of study and benign setting--a varied demographic which can allow a varied understanding of human existence--healthy dialogues--engaging theatre--healthy sports and other extra curricula activity (debate, 'Bees of many ilk'--interaction with other area schools, etc. etc. etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

HHS is a wonderful school. My son and I both graduated from HHS. I was more pleased with the guidance office in years past. My sons guidance counselor (GC) overlooked college required classes and we didn t find out until a meeting late in his junior year. He was not able to take one class he truly wanted his senior year because of this oversight. I felt like my son received more support from teachers then his GC. If there is something in question communicate directly with the teachers. The vocational school is great! I can t speak highly enough about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I'm a sudent of Hartford High School, and I moved here my Freshman year. Compared to my last school Hartford is fantastic. I dont think I would ever want to go anywhere else besides Hartord, They offer so many things for their students that its difficult to leave anyone out. Teachers are pretty much always there to help as well
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

I think like all schools it has problems, but it offers many advantages to the students. It also has some wonderful and very caring teachers. I agree that parents need to get involved, but the school can't force them. The students are also old enough to take responsibility for their education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 23, 2007

My daughter graduated from Hartford High School in '06, and I know that since going on to college she feels that she received an excellent education. Her high school classes, especially AP English, prepared her for college classes meticulously.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2003

Our 3 sons have attended several schools over the years, but each of them were fortunate enough to complete all 4 years of HS at this school. Our youngest graduates in 2005, our older 2 have gone on to be successful wonderful young men in a tough world. What brought them here is the strong leadership this school has in its administration and the competency of its teachers. A+ ! Respect and an excitement for learning are pervasive here in this school! Fantastic extra curricular choices and winning sports team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

When my son graduated in 1989 his one major complaint was that the mathmatics courses did not offer him much of a challenge. He always felt they should have had much more to keep his interest. Overall he had an excellant education at Hartford High.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
29%
Writing

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. As a result, GreatSchools' ratings for Vermont currently reflect 2012-13 test results, the most recent year with data for all subjects.

2013-14 state-level results are not available for the Vermont NECAP; please see here for more information.

The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Female19%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant28%

Reading

All Students65%
Female68%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%

Writing

All Students45%
Female53%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant45%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. As a result, GreatSchools' ratings for Vermont currently reflect 2012-13 test results, the most recent year with data for all subjects.

2013-14 state-level results are not available for the Vermont NECAP; please see here for more information.

The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A36%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37 Highland Ave
White River Junction, VT 05001
Phone: (802) 295-8610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Thetford Academy
Thetford, VT


Sharon Academy
Sharon, VT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT