Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Williamstown Middle/High School

Public | 6-12 | 286 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

The WIlliamstown School system may be rural but there is a lot of heart. There may not be 25 special offerings, but we do have the ability to work outside the box. Student are able to take class on line or at local college facilities. Yes, there may be some issues with teachers, but show me a school that doesn't. If a student wants to learn and their parents want to get involved then there are resources, opportunities and people to help. Both the elementary and the middle-high school have male principals. Things are changing for the good and the school, students, teachers and community are all making this happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

i want to the school it was not a good school at all i got picked on a lot and no one really did anything


Posted April 11, 2010

The middle school principal is so unbelievably negative and unpleasant to deal with. Why we need 2 principals in this small school is just another way we taxpayers are taken advantage of. I believe we should clean house, get rid of the middle school principal and expect the HS principal to do her job and run a school where our kids can learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

i am a student of williamstown and in my opinion it is not a good school. Some of the teachers are nice. the school is a bit small there is 2 math, English, and history teachers but only 1 foreign language teacher. the middle school does doesn't have that much room so they have a math room in the middle school hallway. They also have a class in the high school hallway and when the students are trying to learn they are so loud. The principle in my opinion isn't nice. She doesn't deal with some problems kids have she said she will but she wont. So in all this school is not a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

WMHS is not a very good school in my opinion. The education system is lacking in all areas. I am a sophomore this year and when I talk to sophomores from other schools, they have already learned what I am learning now, earlier on in their schooling. As a student athlete, I feel that the school is more concerned about sports and doing well in sports than they are the kids education. I have tried to move to other schools, and I'm always on the waiting list for school choice. WMHS is not a very good place to go to school, educational wise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

the elementry school is a wonderful place to send your children ,the staff members are a wonderful bunch of caring human beings right down to the custodial staff. the middle high school is awfull only a very few there that should be there.disipline what disipline. the place needed a face lift but someone in charge needs to clean house from the principals all the way down to the bottom of the totom pole.it's a awful place to send children and to work there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

As a former student, I would like it to be noted that I am writing coherant English. I can tie my shoes, balance my checkbook, and use a semicolon. SAT score: 1210. I am not a failure of the educational system. When I met Ms. Morris-Quartz, she had a ladder over her shoulder, and paint can in hand, and a pair of paint-splattered overalls on. She was re-painting the school herself. This, I kept with me through all other frustrations, because her good intentions were so materially there to begin with. This school is a work in progress. I think that she tried too much, too fast, and lost control of it. I would have done no better myself. Also, despite all my griping while I was there, the most important thing is that I had teacher-friends right there griping with me. WMHS can be good for you. In a brocolli kind of way.


Posted February 12, 2007

I worked at this school over five years ago and I did not like the way things were handled then. Behavioral students were not dealt with. Unfortunately, my son decided to go there this year. He is a freshmen. I was very apprehensive. The smaller numbers in classes has been great for him. The teachers still don't get back to you in a timely manner. I still feel that this school needs more then a cosmetic face lift. The communication is lacking, they don't offer enough extra curricular activities and they shouldn't offer core 9 and 10. Overall I am trying to adjust, but my son seems happy. I hope he will get a good education from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

As a parent of two children one in the Elm. one in the High School I have to say that my overall feeling of this school is somewhat mixed.I feel all of the teachers that I have had the pleasure of meeting are Wonderful,loving,qualified teachers! My one child in the middle school is a fun loving,polite but very lazy child. The teachers there have put in countless hours of phone calls and such to try and help establish a plan that works for him. The Teachers thus far receive an A+++ from me. I do feel the school needs great repair and I am glad the bond passed. Ms.Kortz has been helpful also in my experiences.I do wish the teachers had more time for parent/teacher meetings however they are only one person teaching appx.70 children a day! Please understand they cant sit by the phone waiting for you to call!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

I guess all schools have their problems and I do not make enough to be able to send my children to private schools, I not sure that I would anyway. The kids in all my children s classes are very close and so are the parents. At least we re close enough to know each others names. The 2 main concerns are 1. There is absolutely no communication parents to teachers in the Middle and High School 2. I believe the six graders should not be in with High School at all there was too much of a change in my children s personalities in just that year. The Elementary is a nice school but they are running out of room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

Marketing researchers will tell you that it is usually the unhappy people who voice their opinions, and that certainly seems to be the case here. Yes, the principal sometimes avoids issues, but far more frequently, she figures out a way for her students to win. She is a devoted and tireless administrator who consistently asks the questions,'What is best for kids?' One of my children graduated from WMHS, two are currently enrolled. I have seen many changes over the years, and I have to say that the vast majority were for the better. THe inclusion of online class alternatives has been very beneficial for those students who don't like the limited offerings of this small school. The so-called 'core' classes are also designed to adapt to kids' respective learning styles. Unfortunately, this didn't pan out so well for one of my kids, in '04-'05. But we're still trying to figure out why. I have found the principal fairly receptive to my questions and concerns. Let's hope the town passes the bond for building improvements: we really need them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Williamstown Middle/High School isn't as bad as everyone says it is. It's really unfortunate that such bad things have been said about the principal. She is a hard worker and has to deal with many more issues then anyone realizes. Frankly, the participation of the parents is the real problem. They let the teachers and staff deal with everything until something really bad happens, then they come in ranting and raving without knowing what they're talking about. The physical appearance of the school is totally up to the town because they are the ones who won't fund repairs, not the principle. The principle wanted to get us a new school, but the town refused. Over all Williamstown is a good school, and will continue to improve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2004

Every school has it's goods and bads. The only good thing about this school is the teachers are very helpful and supportive of the students. Some of the teachers are actually friends with some of the students which I think is great! The school and classes are so small that it's easier to help each student individually. Unfortunatly, the principal isn't very supportive at all although the vice principal gets right on issues and deals with them. The principal trys to avoid issues completley. This school doesn't really prepare the students for college, doesn't have very many extra-curricular activities to offer, throws all the behavioral-problem students into Venture, or the after school program so no one has to deal with them, but they continue to make problems, and the school building on the inside and outside is really poor, everyone votes 'no' to replacing the school building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2004

I graduated from Williamstown. The teachers are great but the discipline policy is not very good, there are no programs for excelled learners and the funds are very limited.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2004

I refuse to keep my child in this high school another year. I have spent a lot of time this summer researching different schools and Willams town comes in the lowest for acedemic achievement and extra curricular activities offered to the students. The teaching and learning atmosphere is very poor. If you are a parent who, like most, have to work it's almost impossible to contact any one from the school or get a call back from any one. The principal,if you would like to speak with her you have to literally go to the school unannounced and catch her. She refuses to return calls, you have to stay right on her to get any issues resolved. If she can get away with dropping the issue entirely, she will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

I am the parent of a child that is more than capable of making straight A's she was deemed gifted in her last year of Elementary School, There are no programs for gifted children in this school system. My daughter has big dreams of becoming a Doctor, this is something I know she is capable of. Quite frankly I'm concerned that the level of education she is recieving in this school will not be good enough for entry into a good college when the time comes. The sad fact is that I love the town I'min and I like the atmosphere minus the principal in this school. But it leaves me wondering if I'm failing my child by keeping her in this school system. Please accept this for what it is 'my opinion'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

What I like: The team mentality of the staff. The small class sizes for more individual attention. The drive to teach the students to be people, not just fact absorbers. The integration of core subjects, helping students see how it all goes together. Possible drawback: Small budget for updating equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

If you are a parent thinking about sending your child to this school don't. I am a student and for all of the 7th and 8th graders we are all in one room with 4 classes in it with only half wall dividers and it is so loud all day.It is unfair to the middle schooler because we have a different dress code than the high school does and we are in the same building they walk around with belly shirts on and we get writen up if our shirt does not go over our pants.The teachers and prinsable don't care about the students you go to them with a problem and they say they can't do anything and to deal with it.and my 7th grade class and only mine has a bullying person in our class all day.What I'm tring to saying is the scool is unfair to the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2004

I do not have faith in the learning system in the High School. They do not teach individual courses, they combined 3 courses together and this does not look good on the application for college. What ever happend to basic education like Math, Sciences and History. I also have had the experience of not correcting grammer. also if you are a A & B student you have it made at this school. If you are below this you are just put down and not given extra help. I rate this school no stars as has not proven good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

This school has a principal who does not support teachers, students, or parents in need of any assistance. It's a shame, given that this town has the resources to succeed. The steely-eyed look of this principal really is unfortunate.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 32% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 37% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female61%
Male40%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%

Reading

All Students45%
Female76%
Male25%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female46%
Male48%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%

Reading

All Students72%
Female75%
Male72%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Science

All Students24%
Female28%
Male20%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%

Writing

All Students43%
Female49%
Male36%
Blackn/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
Female6%
Male22%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
White (not Hispanic)16%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%

Reading

All Students66%
Female80%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Science

All Students31%
Female31%
Male32%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

Writing

All Students24%
Female26%
Male22%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
White (not Hispanic)24%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 93%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 Hebert Rd
Williamstown, VT 05679
Phone: (802) 433-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT