Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Williston Schools 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
Very happy with Williston central school after my two children were there for 9 years. Both have mild learning disabilities but are on target with their peers due to extra help given by the school. The school is very good and resolving student conflicts as well.

Williston Schools 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
We love love love Williston Schools!! It is wonderful to see my children thriving. They both love their teachers. I feel they are getting an exceptional education.


Williston Schools 5

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
Great school! My son Is beyond his grade level In ability and the school accommodates that through its flexibility. He is in a multiple-age track, though other options exist for other learnings styles, including looping with the same class two years in a row. We also like the small town community with big town amenities.

Williston Schools 3

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
The Williston schools cannot be considered excellent because there is not a strong literacy curriculum. In the K-2 program there is a strong bias toward teaching reading using the whole language approach. Results of research by the National Reading Panel have been largely ignored and the extremely expensive, but minimally effective Reading Recovery Program is used. Although the Fundations Program and Lexia are used to teach phonics, this is taught seperately and students are not taught to apply phonics to reading. The teachers, although well meaning are not well trained in teaching reading. There is an overemphasis on technology compared to teaching basic skills.

Williston Schools 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Williston Schools 4

Posted February 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Williston Schools 5

Posted May 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Williston Schools 5

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
Allen Brook School (K-4) is a great elementary school in Williston. Wonderfully caring, involved teachers and principal, lots of schoolwide energy, and wide variety of extracurricular programs, themes, and events... Friday morning music in the lobby, 'Walk to School Wednesday', Author's Tea, and global warming week are just a sampling of the positive energy displayed at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Williston Schools
195 Central School Dr, Williston, VT  05495
(802) 878-2762
Last modified Williston Schools is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Williston Schools Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top